100+ dollars to anyone who fixed event sheet copy?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:41 pm

newt is right: using the Prof-UIS libs was a big mistake for us, because you have to pay for a license to use it (about 200 IIRC), which is an instant turn off to 99% of open source developers. We've fixed this in C2 which doesn't use any paid libs.

The Prof-UIS libs are used only in the editor - so third party developers can build the runtime and any of the plugins without paying anything - just not the editor.

I can set up a fundry for 0.x, but the Prof-UIS licenses would probably just kill it - $100 is half way to a license for one developer, without leaving anything to actually motivate the developer.

Also, the event sheet pasting issue could be completed, but it would probably be buggy even when done, due to the codebase issues outlined in the open letter. Also, $100 would pay for about five hours work reasonably, but I'd estimate there's at least 50 hours work in the job... and I'm kept pretty busy by university and developing C2, so I don't think I have time to take on the job myself.

Removing the Prof-UIS libs from 0.x is a rewrite level job which is basically being done already in C2!

Soo... that's the situation. Sorry if it's disappointing. It's a bit tricky. C2 is having this kind of thing built in from the start anyway - it will take a long time for C2 to catch up with 0.x in maturity, but the situation is basically the same as the open letter: 0.x is a huge mess, we're fixing things like this in C2, and we don't have time to do both. So we're pretty much cornered and I think the best way out is just go 100% with C2.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:49 pm

Well, you can copy "some" things from a .cap to another.
It's possible to have parallel work at some level. You can work in separated trunks and then merge then in a final version.

Of course theres some problems.

#You can copy some objects from one cap to another (I've tried sprites, tilesets and text)
-but it won't copy container informations, you'll have to relink.
-if you copy a lot of objects you can't paste then in the same position,it will be all messed up, So if you design a level and positioned all the collision blocks and enemies you can't copy then in the same position.
-I got major bugs trying to copy XAudio2 and Keyboard, so now I just recreate this 2 when merging caps.

#You can copy list of events from one cap to another.
-but if any of the events makes reference to a non-existing object it will certainly crash Construct.

#You can't copy layouts.
#You can't copy event sheets.(although you can copy the events inside the event sheet).
B
2
G
1
Posts: 11
Reputation: 497

Post » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:51 pm

That you know of. It might cause other issues you don't know about. If you're working on a big game, I don't recommend trying it.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:55 pm

Ashley, Does this mean you own the rights to the libs and don't plan on using them? Could you donate your rights to the libs to another person if they take the job?

It's very good to know how much work is involved. I'm hoping others will also offer to donate and make it work while for someone...especially someone who might also want this feature for their own construct use.

Maybe if we also pledged some percent of any sales proffit from the eventual games made in construct 0.x to whomever fixes this issue....?
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1,698

Post » Sun Feb 13, 2011 2:01 am

People regularly say they'll pay us a percentage of profit made from Construct creations, but I've never seen any of that money, so I'm afraid that's not something that interests me much.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:04 am

@ashley: don't be sad :)
it's probably because nobody till now has earned anything from construct creations :wink:
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:26 am

Yeah, realistically that would have to be considered as a "possible bonus" instead of a sure thing.. HOWEVER it would be much more likely proffitible games would be made with Construct 0.x IF this issue were fixed.

Also, as I said, IF this were fixed, I'd pay someone to make a plug-in to support my sprite Animating tool Spriter... this should also help get more people using Construct as well.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1,698

Post » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:01 pm

Given the likelihood of someone fixing C0.x, versus the ease of porting your animator to C2, or even the likelihood of C2 getting a exe exporter... I would put my money on C2.
Hell you probably wouldn't even need to pay someone to port it. If you were smart enough to make the animator, your smart enough to figure out the scripting for its plug, and the ideal person to do it I might add.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:56 pm

It is true I could hold out for Construct 2, but it will take a long time for the features and functionality to match or even come close to Construct and all its plugins.

I was hoping that this was a fix someone could make in a matter of weeks or a few months...

Plus there's the fact that Construct 0.x is definately free.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1,698

Post » Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:03 am

I think if there is a bit more work done on V1 still that would be great. Recently i needed some things for Window object -

Condition - Has Moved?

Condition - Is Resizing?

I need those for a app i made to update the display better, not sure if that will ever get added now but hopefully simple updates like that are possible.
B
2
S
2
G
1
Posts: 121
Reputation: 1,092

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests