[152]C2's crash related to changing variable type

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:02 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
CAPX

Steps to reproduce:
1. Open capx
2. Go to Timer family and change variable type from Value to Text
3. Going to event sheet and double clicking on the action will crash construct.

Observed result:
C2 crashes when trying to edit the action.

In my game project, what I originally did after first crash, was to copy the value in to the clipboard, then replace the value with 0 ( without the quotation marks ), changed the Variable type to Text, went back to action which have opened correctly without crashing, pasted the string and added float() to tokenat values. I then saved, but forgot to replace other action using same variable. So then, when opening it up, it did give me some error message and asks me to edit the line out trough xml.

Expected result:
C2 not crashing. Instead c2 should either change the value in to string or float automatically, or at least do something I would call "Action Freeze" ( not toggle cause otherwise it will get confusing )that would disable the action until it would be edited.

Operating system & service pack:
Specs are in the signature

Construct 2 version:
    152megatronx2013-12-13 18:14:31
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:24 pm

I can't reproduce in the .capx you've provided. The 'Timer' family has no variables. If I edit the variable on the Sprite object, the 'Type' field is greyed out and cannot be changed - specifically because it would make expressions invalid. Can you confirm precisely what you are doing?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:06 pm

Let me check the capx and get back to you.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:11 pm

capx2

Ok, made a mistake when reproducing the bug. Now it's working. So if you go to Timer family and change the variable TimeVar type to text and go back to the action and try opening it it should crash.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:42 pm

Thanks, can reproduce - will take a look for the next build.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Tue Dec 17, 2013 2:04 pm

Should be fixed in the next build.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests