[206] Game freezes on all major browsers

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:31 am

Problem Description
Game occasionally freezes and this error message is shown:
Image

Attach a Capx
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzbX-wj9E7SrNGE2d2ZLM0RwRTg/view?usp=sharing

Description of Capx
I had to include the complete capx of my project, as I have no idea what part of it is causing the problem. (All rights reserved)

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Just playing. The freezing can happen on any level at any moment. More likely at levels 3, 4 or 5.

Observed Result
The game freezes and you get the error message.

Expected Result
I would expect it not to freeze.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES) Game freezes. Error message is shown.
  • FireFox: (YES) Game just freezes. No errror message.
  • IE11: (YES) Game freezes. Error message is shown.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1 pro

Construct 2 Version ID
Release 206 (64 bit)
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 38
Reputation: 795

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:53 am

I see the stutter but there is nothing - no proof - that this is an issue with C2.

Ashley will not like you posting a full project either, as you are basically asking him to check all your events, which he is unlikely to have time to do. That is why a guideline of his is:

Do I need to share my entire project? I have copyright concerns.
No, we don't want your entire project. Sending us your entire project is usually not actually helpful. The guidelines require a minimal project with the fewest events and objects possible.


Have you tried making a copy and deleting as much as possible and seeing if the stutter disappears?

It may be a very simple thing that is causing the issue but everyone - except yourself - is going to struggle trying to navigate and understand such a large project.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
131
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,630

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:33 am

You are right. I was bit too quick to post this report.

I tried reducing the capx to single level, but then I didn't get it to freeze any more. That was strange because I didn't remove any events.

Anyway, now I have an idea that this problem may be caused by mixing physics, solids and platform behaviors incorrectly. I will try to get rid of the physics behaviors as much as possible and see if that helps. No need to proceed with this report before that.
Lokkim Games: Constructor Dude - Fun platformer game, PuzCro - Difficult puzzle game demo
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 38
Reputation: 795

Post » Wed Aug 05, 2015 3:18 pm

This is the console log, I've had to alter it because the forum keeps thinking it's an injection attack or something.
Code: Select all
Cannot enlarge memory arrays. Either (1) compile with -s TOTAL_MEMORY=X with X higher than the current value 16777216, (2) compile with ALLOW_MEMORY_GROWTH which adjusts the size at runtime but prevents some optimizations, or (3) set Module.TOTAL_MEMORY before the program runs.
Cannot enlarge memory arrays. Either (1) compile with -s TOTAL_MEMORY=X with X higher than the current value 16777216, (2) compile with ALLOW_MEMORY_GROWTH which adjusts the size at runtime but prevents some optimizations, or (3) set Module.TOTAL_MEMORY before the program runs.
Uncaught abort() at Error
    at Error (native)
    at fb (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:31:26)
    at ua (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:417:61)
    at Function.h.o [as W] (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:17:91)
    at nc (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:167:483)
    at NB (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:196:40914)
    at _f (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:184:24253)
    at j.Fx [as g] (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:654:22)
    at behinstProto.createBody (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:1551:16)
    at behinstProto.tick (http://localhost:50000/Physics_behavior:1883:9)
If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 293

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:40 pm

The link to the error message is not working. Based on what @huwp reported, this is a duplicate of https://www.scirra.com/forum/physics-error-and-crash_t150137. Please note the bug report requirements; we normally would not investigate a complete project with vague repro steps.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,250


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rodimus111 and 1 guest