3 things i need help on?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:15 pm

Here is a barebones example for making a ellipse window. All the required python files are included in "py.zip" so no python install is needed. Just keep "py.zip" in the same directory as the cap or exported exe.

[url:2mhel9tu]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/examples3/ellipseWindow.zip[/url:2mhel9tu]
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:41 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":27s6cb5m]Here is a barebones example for making a ellipse window. All the required python files are included in "py.zip" so no python install is needed. Just keep "py.zip" in the same directory as the cap or exported exe.

[url:27s6cb5m]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/examples3/ellipseWindow.zip[/url:27s6cb5m][/quote:27s6cb5m]

Thanks for the cap, but im still having problems runnining it ?
What i did :
[u:27s6cb5m]method1[/u:27s6cb5m]
1, unzipped 'ellipseWindow.zip' to folder to a folder i named 'ellipseWindow''
2, double clicked the cap........crash 1
[u:27s6cb5m]method2[/u:27s6cb5m]
1,dropped the contents of 'ellipseWindow.zip' to main construct folder.
2. double clipped the cap........crash 2

Will the fact that i am working on a laptop have anything to do with it?

Im using a HP 6910P, so its a pretty decent spec.


regards

chrisbrobs :oops:
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 7,296

Post » Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:49 am

What are the crash messages? Also what version of Construct are you using? The example was made with 0.99.96. If you can't open the cap then either you're opening it in a older version of Construct or the cap is corrupted.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:12 am

[quote="R0J0hound":2tul83j1]Here is a barebones example for making a ellipse window. All the required python files are included in "py.zip" so no python install is needed. Just keep "py.zip" in the same directory as the cap or exported exe.

[url:2tul83j1]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/examples3/ellipseWindow.zip[/url:2tul83j1][/quote:2tul83j1]


[u:2tul83j1]R0J0hound[/u:2tul83j1] this question was for you !

Where do i install the files.....do i ineed to unzip, move or add to.....the python files in that are in the construct folder.

I have tried opening several python related caps but they crash or give an out of memory error.


thanks in advance

chrisbrobs
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 7,296

Post » Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:41 am

chrisbrobs,
Method 1 is all that is needed to get it to run: Just extract the zip file and run the cap.
The fact that construct crashes when you try to open the cap usually means that you are trying to open a cap file made in a newer version of construct than you have installed.

The example was made with Construct 0.99.96, so you need at least that version to run the example.

If the crashes occur after opening the cap file when you click "run layout" then it is perhaps another problem. In which case what are the error messages, as they will help me figure out what the problem is.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Sun Dec 05, 2010 2:20 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":2p8wvizw]chrisbrobs,
Method 1 is all that is needed to get it to run: Just extract the zip file and run the cap.
The fact that construct crashes when you try to open the cap usually means that you are trying to open a cap file made in a newer version of construct than you have installed.

The example was made with Construct 0.99.96, so you need at least that version to run the example.

If the crashes occur after opening the cap file when you click "run layout" then it is perhaps another problem. In which case what are the error messages, as they will help me figure out what the problem is.[/quote:2p8wvizw]
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The crash happens as soon as i double click on the .cap.
The message is..........Runtime error.

OOPS.....I just checked what build im using.......its 0.99.62 :oops:
Do i need to upgrade ?........what effect will this have on my current projects, can i have both builds on the same drive?

Thanks R0J0hound



chrisbrobs
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 7,296

Post » Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Python doesn't work too well in 0.99.62, you'll need a newer version since python support has gotten better in newer versions. You can install multiple versions of Construct at the same time, just install to different folders.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:15 pm

[quote="R0J0hound":33ambg35]Python doesn't work too well in 0.99.62, you'll need a newer version since python support has gotten better in newer versions. You can install multiple versions of Construct at the same time, just install to different folders.[/quote:33ambg35]

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[u:33ambg35]SOLVED[/u:33ambg35]- transparent window question.

I installed 099.96 and the cap runs ok.

[u:33ambg35]Thanks again R0J0hound[/u:33ambg35] :wink:
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 7,296

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests