3D Box/Object?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:09 pm

What about extra features for these objects.
[list:1d666y4m]
[*:1d666y4m] Change textures through event editor[/*:m:1d666y4m]
[*:1d666y4m] Option editing opacity via the event editor.[/*:m:1d666y4m]
[*:1d666y4m] Change model using event editor. (Might cause FPS issues?)[/*:m:1d666y4m]
[*:1d666y4m] Support animation for 3D Object plugin.[/*:m:1d666y4m][/list:u:1d666y4m]

Just a few idea I had.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sun Nov 07, 2010 3:29 pm

You can already achieve the same effect, without fps issues, of switching models by using two different 3d objects.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:50 pm

[quote="Azu":3n9exxul]What about extra features for these objects.
[list:3n9exxul]
[*:3n9exxul] Change textures through event editor[/*:m:3n9exxul]
[*:3n9exxul] Option editing opacity via the event editor.[/*:m:3n9exxul]
[*:3n9exxul] Change model using event editor. (Might cause FPS issues?)[/*:m:3n9exxul]
[*:3n9exxul] Support animation for 3D Object plugin.[/*:m:3n9exxul][/list:u:3n9exxul]

Just a few idea I had.[/quote:3n9exxul]

i had the same idea's
i would love to see that you can load 3D objects and textures on runtime with the 3D object
then i can finish my model viewer :)
i do understand construct will not be made for real 3D games i just like to experiment with them in 2D scene's
i do not know about fps issues i can load a model with more than 2000 polys with no problems
B
3
G
4
Posts: 34
Reputation: 1,143

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:27 am

Once you start adding 3D features to Construct you are also going to add a heap of other issues. Like Render Order, Alpha sorting, Culling, Drawcalls, shaders etc. Personally, I don't want the developers to spend time on developing more advanced 3d features when frankly there are better 3D game creators out there (Like Unity / UDK).
B
16
S
6
G
6
Posts: 100
Reputation: 4,840

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:51 am

Both of which requires scripting.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:38 pm

Not entirely true, there are very few things you can do in Construct (game logic wise) that you can't do in Kismet.
B
16
S
6
G
6
Posts: 100
Reputation: 4,840

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:41 pm

I was referring to UScript and Unity's "Boo" script or C# or Java..
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:58 pm

i do understand what you mean i am also already using the udk for my 3D game needs :lol:
i did not mean they should put in al the stuff Julmust said only something like changing textures and models on runtime not only in the editor :)
i hope they will just continue to create a awsome 2D engine with a little 3D touch :lol:
B
3
G
4
Posts: 34
Reputation: 1,143


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests