3d Maze Question

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:54 pm

Just brainstorming here since I'm stuck at work without Construct 2 but I'm trying to come up with a system to do a 3d maze. Kind of like an old 1980s first person dungeon crawler where you step forward or can turn 90 degrees.

Now I think this would be pretty easy if every piece of the maze was in its own layout and you simply set a command to move to the desired layout when moving. This would end up taking up a lot of layouts though and I have no idea if that would slow things down in the end. Any other ideas that could be easy to implement? I suppose some sort of array that changes the maze sprite would work too but might be a little complex.
B
4
G
3
Posts: 36
Reputation: 997

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:59 pm

Do you mean like in Wolfenstein 3D or the old-school brick maze screensaver for windows?
B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:09 pm

Man, that brick maze really brings me back.

But I mean something like 3d Monster MazeBiznessMan2013-07-22 22:10:07
B
4
G
3
Posts: 36
Reputation: 997

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:23 pm

oh happy memories ...

I have an idea that should work - I will try to post some code in a couple of days time.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
63
S
32
G
39
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 26,657

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:33 pm

Sounds good to me. I think my method above would be the easiest route but I am not sure if using layouts is goon on the user end compared to making some sort of array to keep track of the player's X and Y coords and displaying the proper sprites.

I guess if I really wanted to I could just make it Myst style where you click around and move between prerendered backgrounds
B
4
G
3
Posts: 36
Reputation: 997

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:39 pm

I've seen this done on the forums before - just the other day in fact. I just can't find it at the moment.

Edit: found one:
copperlichtblackhornet2013-07-22 23:07:41
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
19
G
179
Posts: 3,478
Reputation: 102,677

Post » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:52 pm

I appreciate the find but I am afraid that is too advanced for what I'm looking for. I'm looking for something less smooth and more like an old pseudo 3d maze game from the 80s
B
4
G
3
Posts: 36
Reputation: 997

Post » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:10 am

You could use layers. You can then cross-fade your layers for transitions.blackhornet2013-07-23 00:12:03
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
19
G
179
Posts: 3,478
Reputation: 102,677

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:54 am

Not getting time to play anymore - but have a quick look at maze blocks

all it does is use sprites - and at the moment it just displays random one to represent a maze type of view, there is no movement or any interaction.

Anyway it might be one way to go ? Probably better to remove all the empty space ...
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
63
S
32
G
39
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 26,657

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 12:27 pm

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AekiroStudio, Soulmachine and 7 guests