3D Top Down Shooter (2.28.11)

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:25 pm

This is just an experiment that turned out cooler than I thought it would. I wanted to see how good I could get a 3d environment to look mixed with 2D sprites. It's still a WIP but I thought it's starting to show some potential. I still need to work on textures and make the area more detailed, but I'm happy with the way the lighting is coming along. I didn't really have a game design in mind, but it seems to be heading towards a top down Splinter Cell type game...maybe.


Download Demo

WASD: move
Left mouse: shoot
Shift: run
Ctrl: Duck

Update:
I started making the AI which is pretty basic right now. It has an initial path it can follow, but if it hears something it will search the room it heard the noise in. If it sees you then loses sight, it will also search the room it last saw you in. If it doesn't find anything, it will return to it's initial path. It's a first pass but I'm happy with the progress.
There's also a small graphical update. But nowhere near done.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:22 pm

http://i855.photobucket.com/albums/ab11 ... ynn4/k.jpg

That's all I see one this laptop (which has a dedicated ATi video chip and 4.0 shader support). I am assuming it's just a driver issue.

Anyways, just in case I thought I'd post it.
B
13
S
6
G
6
Posts: 144
Reputation: 3,106

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:34 pm

[quote="buddy40":1ysda3om]http://i855.photobucket.com/albums/ab112/Sarahlynn4/k.jpg

That's all I see one this laptop (which has a dedicated ATi video chip and 4.0 shader support). I am assuming it's just a driver issue.

Anyways, just in case I thought I'd post it.[/quote:1ysda3om]

Same here :( 1GB GeForce 9800GT.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,846
Reputation: 48,293

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:36 pm

I suspect you forgot to include the 3d model(s)?!? :P
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:41 pm

[quote="PixelRebirth":33306yhb]I suspect you forgot to include the 3d model(s)?!? :P[/quote:33306yhb]

lol, yeah that's probably it. I didn't even consider there weren't any mesh files with it.
B
13
S
6
G
6
Posts: 144
Reputation: 3,106

Post » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:27 am

Opps, sorry about that! Thanks for letting me know. I never tested on another computer so I just assumed the models were stored with the exe. Is there any way to embed the model files or do I have to distribute them separately?

[quote="buddy40":3klm6rag]On a side note, I highly recommend editing Ashley's mesh tool a bit. I was able to turn it into an almost full-featured modeller.[/quote:3klm6rag]

I completely forgot about the mesh tool. I only checked it out briefly when it was originally released. It seemed difficult to use. I'm not so great with programming so I doubt I can edit it...maybe ill take a look at it again though.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Post » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:30 am

Might want to take a look at Rojo's resource access plugin; you should be able to use it for what you're needing.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:31 am

[quote="linkman2004":1c18ojj7]Might want to take a look at Rojo's resource access plugin; you should be able to use it for what you're needing.[/quote:1c18ojj7]

Thanks for the tip, though I can't seem to get it to work with the 3d Object. I took down the demo for now.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Post » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:54 am

[quote="UberLou":3fsxvlbp]Thanks for the tip, though I can't seem to get it to work with the 3d Object. I took down the demo for now.[/quote:3fsxvlbp]

Awwwww I wanna try it :(
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:13 pm

[quote="deadeye":15jwhdih][quote="UberLou":15jwhdih]Thanks for the tip, though I can't seem to get it to work with the 3d Object. I took down the demo for now.[/quote:15jwhdih]

Awwwww I wanna try it :([/quote:15jwhdih]

I second that!

Do you have any objections against simply putting the model files in an archive along with the exe?
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Next

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest