3d wolfenstein-ish engine

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:29 am

[quote="Attan":psoyuxeg]AWSOME! Really cool!

Since i haven't looked through the code i don't really know how this works, but would it be possible to add jumping?[/quote:psoyuxeg]
Thats sort of like going from Wolfenstien to Doom :D
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:01 pm

This is so awesome.How did you do that.Can you make a Game?Thats amazing.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,124

Post » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:49 pm

i am SOOO AMAZED at how you accomplished this! at first i thought you'd have used an array object or something to workout where to place the walls but the way you did it makes to so easy to create levels!
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 293
Reputation: 2,236

Post » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:24 am

Yeah you can add jumping, however it gets a little tricky because I used the built in physics engine for the collisions so working out 3d collisions with a 2d physics engine could be rather tricky..but not impossible...and then its just a case of moving the 3d box's along the y axis...although if you wanted to allowing 3d looking around (like unreal etc) the maths gets a bit more tricky....
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:32 pm

I know I'm a bit late in saying this, but this is truly amazing.

I could only imagine what would be possible now if Construct had the ability to load 3D meshes or even other shapes rather than just cubes. We could possibly see something on the level of Doom, Duke Nukem 3D or even better, maybe even Quake.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:54 pm

[quote="machrider":u3bj9kr3]We could possibly see something on the level of Doom, Duke Nukem 3D or even better, maybe even Quake.[/quote:u3bj9kr3]

Quake would probably be out of the question. Ashley and others have been pretty clear on just how difficult it would be to make a "true" 3d engine. Doom might be a realistic goal, though.



Well... for someone else, at least. I'm only certain of what I'm not capable of. :oops:
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 401
Reputation: 2,302

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2008 7:26 pm

ive started making a 3d mario test using this. pretty sweet

david i have one question?

for the events setting x and z of each wall3d, did you find those multipliers like and adders like this (sin(Wall('angle')) * Wall('distance') * [u:jsbzpjx0]64 + 320[/u:jsbzpjx0]) through trial and error, or is their some kind of logic behind them?

and how are "Wall" picked for those action pertaining to wall3d in an always
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:10 pm

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":239vt123]
for the events setting x and z of each wall3d, did you find those multipliers like and adders like this (sin(Wall('angle')) * Wall('distance') * [u:239vt123]64 + 320[/u:239vt123]) through trial and error, or is their some kind of logic behind them?

and how are "Wall" picked for those action pertaining to wall3d in an always[/quote:239vt123]

It's simple really... you see... he picked the quantum mechanics of the obliterating photon particle beam and utilized them in such a manner that the fabric barrier of stellar and interstellar simultaneous fluctuation was transmogrified into a paradigm shift of reality vs creating x-rays using cello tape.

Sif you didn't know that :roll:

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:39 pm

well each 3d cube is 64x64...hence the multiply by 64 ... and the centre of the screen horizontally is 320...so i added 320.

When setting the z co-ordinate, I had to add + 8.5 because that brings the cube forwards out of the screen, such that it exists in the same 3d space as the camera which is looking at the cubes...thats the only 'magic' number :P If you remove that number and spin around its like ur spinning the world around and looking at it from a distance...its kinda weird lol.

The sin and cos stuff is just for rotating one shape around another shape.
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:44 pm

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":xduw9iry]
and how are "Wall" picked for those action pertaining to wall3d in an always[/quote:xduw9iry]

Construct using a paring system, so if you have a tank base and a tank turret, and then use 'always - set tank turret to tank base' it will give one turret to each tank base.

Containers do the exact same thing, except if a condition unpicks an object, all the other objects which are contained are also unpicked.
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

PreviousNext

Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest