5 Minute Dungeon [playable build]

Show us your works in progress and request feedback

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:49 pm

@blekdar
Yes I'm doing every area as a seperate layout. This is so I can make add new areas really quick and have the player go to a random area each time he leaves one.

Right now I use this one. It has a little fade and only the camera only slides when you enter a new room.
I just really want a bit of slide in the beginning so it feels like the rooms are actually connected.
And I'm using a Wait event of 0.5 seconds before going to the next room, so I can change the speed of transition pretty easy with this
Image
B
8
S
4
Posts: 120
Reputation: 1,266

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:06 pm

That looks pretty nice!

What if you also add a character movement to the beginning of each layout as well? IMHO it looks a bit strange to be moving towards the next layout and see the character just standing there when the layout has loaded.
ImageImageImageImage
B
62
S
19
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,836

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:58 pm

That is much better, looks like a good compromise. Also, I agree with @DatapawWolf that something subtle like the character walking in the room would add a lot to the momentum. Also, I feel that maybe the slide into the level should be a little slower. Maybe it should cover a little less distance. Just a minor thing really, looking great otherwise.
B
37
S
5
G
1
Posts: 155
Reputation: 2,140

Post » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:35 pm

Derqs wrote:@blekdar
Yes I'm doing every area as a seperate layout. This is so I can make add new areas really quick and have the player go to a random area each time he leaves one.


Just a quick thought, but what if you put them all in one layout separated by some space between them. Then, you could put a trigger at the end of each area that teleports the player and the camera to new coordinates which will be where the next area starts.

It'd load faster than going to a new layout (of course with maybe a longer set up time in programming). I couldn't say how well it would work without testing it, but maybe set up a function (or use "choose" or something) to choose the coordinates for the next area randomly (from a list of each area's starting coordinates). It would probably also require events or enemies to appear/activate once you enter each new section. You may also need to set up blocks so you can't move or pan the camera past the borders of each area.

Like I said, I couldn't say how well it would work without testing. I just thought I'd throw it out there.
B
81
S
30
G
35
Posts: 340
Reputation: 23,046

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:48 am

@DatapawWolf & @Blekdar
Thanks, that was an awesome suggestion!, I added it immediately.

@Drawmelton
That sounds like a really good idea performance whise, sadly I'm really bad at programming. Also the layouts I use are pretty small and don't have a lot of objects in them, so loading them goes pretty fast. Ofcourse It would go much faster with your idea. But right now I don't have the know-how for it.

Here is the updated transition with the player automatically moving at the start.
Image
B
8
S
4
Posts: 120
Reputation: 1,266

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:54 am

Looks ballin'! Has a very Rogue Legacy feel especially with those flaming floaty skulls. Graphics are nice and simple to the eye. Still, I'd probably get rid of that slight screen shake when not hitting actual enemies. Otherwise breddy good and looking for more updates!
B
21
S
7
G
4
Posts: 233
Reputation: 3,474

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:04 am

@Derqs, looks excellent! Maybe you could add that same functionality when the player exits to a new layout as well? I noticed that in that GIF you posted, the character appears to hit a wall while the transition occurs. Instead, maybe you could continue that movement until they are outside of the player view?

Otherwise, thumbs up! I am looking forward to more updates. :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
62
S
19
G
51
Posts: 633
Reputation: 30,836

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:09 am

that pumpkin is going places.
can the background be seamless though? I see a line in the pattern that's ticker than the others.
B
35
S
9
G
3
Posts: 493
Reputation: 4,092

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:41 am

^^^
I noticed that too and for people with slight ocd ;) it can become a real problem :P Other than that, your game is simply amazing!
B
37
S
14
G
3
Posts: 263
Reputation: 4,280

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:47 am

@alvarop
@HZgaming
Yep, I don't really know why that is, I'm using a tiled background so sometimes suddenly some lines are thicker than others.


@datapawwolf
I added the movement at the end of the layout too!, thanks for the suggestion. I also added some more traps, but still need to change the look of them a bit. The torches also got an animation update.
Image
B
8
S
4
Posts: 120
Reputation: 1,266

PreviousNext

Return to Works in Progress/Feedback Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests