8-way directional custom controls.

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Change the size and position of everything without calculating anything!
  • Hello Construct Community,

I'm a bit new to this program, so I'm a bit confused as to how to make an 8-directional movement. If any of you have played they game Rocket Knight or Sparkster, there's an 8 way jetpack movement(ie Up, Left, Down, Right, UpRight, DownLeft etc.)

I'm trying to recreate that directional movement, but I'm not sure how to do it using custom movement. I need to be able to cancel velocity unless a button is pressed (I'm reassigning to WASD) as well. Please help.

Also, I'm trying to have the overall speed be around 400. I'm running into an issue where the speed cancels in every direction other than the one that was pressed.

• Why not using the 8-dir behavior ?

• With the default controls it seems to rotate and accelerate towards a direction, but I need it so that the sprite is at a constant speed, but once a direction is pressed, it's dedicated to that direction until changed. Kind of like a light-cycle, but in 8 directions rather than 4. I've gotten it to where the WASD changes the direction of the object towards 90, 180, 270 and 360 degrees, but I need the angles halfway in between them.

I'm sorry if my language isn't clear, as I'm sort of stumped at this point.

• With the default controls it seems to rotate and accelerate towards a direction, but I need it so that the sprite is at a constant speed, but once a direction is pressed, it's dedicated to that direction until changed. Kind of like a light-cycle, but in 8 directions rather than 4. I've gotten it to where the WASD changes the direction of the object towards 90, 180, 270 and 360 degrees, but I need the angles halfway in between them.

I'm sorry if my language isn't clear, as I'm sort of stumped at this point.

So using the 8-dir behavior:

Set the angle property to "45 degree-interval"