A few bugs I am encountering.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:20 pm

Hi there,

I am encountering a few bugs and Im wondering if anybody else has encountered them as well.

The first is that when I switch screens some game objects are left over. Imagine a whole bunch of enemies that did't get destroyed when you move to the game over screen.

The second is that some web GL effects just randomly stop working. This only happens when I change screens. After I change layouts a few times then the screen goes black.

I think this is something in the backend that I can't control. The only thing that I can think of is that I am changing screens the wrong way.
I should also mention that I am reseting global variables when I exit the game over screen.

Anybody encounter these kinds of bugs?
B
76
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 9,308

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:30 pm

Check this out: How to report bugs :)
B
24
S
9
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,312

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:49 pm

The first sounds like you might have some 'on destroyed: spawn object' type events. When you change/restart the layout all the objects are destroyed and that spawns new objects on the next layout.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,680

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:10 pm

Display glitches could be driver problems. Are your graphics card drivers up to date? Can you reproduce in every browser? Have you tried other systems?
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,653
Reputation: 196,143

Post » Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:37 pm

I have tried it on internet explore and chrome as well as a notekit export. Something is for sure happening when I change layouts.

Also the camera follows multiple layers. Here is what happens

I start the game
Play the game
Switch to game over screen
Back to start page.
THe game is then messed up with a whole bunch of errors.

Before I change the scene do I need to restart the layout?
B
76
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 9,308

Post » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:56 pm

Something is for sure happening. Whenever I restart the layout the WebGL effects start to turn off. I have checked this over multiple browsers. As well I couldn't get the mac version of node webkit to work.
B
76
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 9,308

Post » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:26 pm

Actually it sounds like you have objects set to "Global" which makes them appear on all layouts..
B
242
S
63
G
33
Posts: 903
Reputation: 40,756

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:05 am

What exactly do you mean.

There is something going on with the switching of the layout. Usually in other development environments a problem like this would be a missed variable or a mis-assigned variable.
B
76
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 9,308

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:29 am

Click on one of the objects that is showing from layout to layout, and check it's properties for the global setting. If it's on, turn it off.

4th line down in the object's properties bar.

Name: Enemy
Plugin: Sprite
UID: ##
Global: No



B
242
S
63
G
33
Posts: 903
Reputation: 40,756

Post » Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:32 pm

It seems they are set to global no.

Perhaps I am doing something wrong when I change layouts. I just go an change the layout. WHen something happens. Am I supposed to reset it in someway shape or form?
B
76
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 9,308

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests