A few car and sprite editing requests

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
252 high-quality futuristic car engine sound effects.
  • Hi, i'm brand new to Construct, so forgive me if there's workarounds or options for these that i've managed to miss, i did have a bit of a poke about and couldn't see anything that jumped out at me though...

Car movement:

-I HAAATE the "back the way you came" bouncing collisions! Do you think at some point they could be changed to a more "realistic" (well not really, in real life your car crumples up and you die, but you get what i mean) bouncing method that "reflects" the car away like a bouncing ball, so if you have a "glancing" impact with something you bounce away from it but still go in roughly the same direction, and only shoot back in reverse if you hit something dead-on at 90 degrees. Perhaps options could be made to choose either "reversing" or "reflecting" bounces? Of course the holy grail would be for it to also add some rotation, so if you hit a wall at 45 degrees the car would bounce off and spin around... but i know when not to ask too much

-I tried to make the car slow down when it hit an object so if it did have to shoot backwards it didn't do so at the same speed, i did this by making a collision event and giving it the action "Sprite[Car].Speed/2", which i took to mean that on a collision it would reduce the car's speed by half, but it doesnt seem to have any effect at all (i have a counter telling me the speed, i hit the object at 500 so it should jump down to 250, but i defintiley see it go through the 400's and 300's). I also tried multiplying the car's speed by half but that didn't work either.

-Also, i don't know if i set it up wrong, but collisions with the 3D box objects seem to be stuck on "box" collisions. For instance i was passing the corner of one at a 45 degree angle and rebounded as if i had collided without actually touching the box

Sprite editing: