A simple game with different performances. Why it happens?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:32 pm

Simple game:
- few objects and images
- using only the bullet behaviour (once)
- no "every tick" condition
- few overlap conditions
- a single large image (1.8 mb)
- plugins: cranberry iap/revmob
- cordova/intel XDK (CLI 5.1) *Edited
- events organized in groups
- screen size 854 x 480 **Edited

Performance:
Web (Chrome): 72 fps

Samsung Tab4 SM T230NU: 3 fps
Samsung Tab PRO SM T320: 11 fps
Motorola Moto G: 12 fps

iPhone 6s: 70 fps
Last edited by RBuster on Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:05 am, edited 2 times in total.
B
73
S
13
G
3
Posts: 994
Reputation: 7,504

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:05 am

A simple game with different performances. Why it happens?


Your devices have Android-Versions <5 and you don't use Crosswalk.
The GPUs of your devices are blacklisted.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:58 am

Asmodean wrote:Your devices have Android-Versions <5 and you don't use Crosswalk.
The GPUs of your devices are blacklisted.


@Asmodean,

Moto G uses Android v. 5.1. Did you verified if its GPU, specifically, is blacklisted?

Why I cannot use Crosswalk? I always used crosswalk with the previous android version without problem. What has changed?

Change the CLI can solve it? (5.1 >> 4.2) or it's a fact that my game will not run smoothly on earlier versions?
B
73
S
13
G
3
Posts: 994
Reputation: 7,504

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:33 am

@RenatoB

You asked why that happend and I give you the most frequently reasons. If that are the reasons that cause your problems, I can't say.

You didn't write you use crosswalk, so I suggest you did not. I don't say that you can't use crosswalk only that if you don't use it with Android-Version lesser than 5 the performance can be sluggish.

If you use chrome on android and use chrome://gpu as an URL you could see if WebGL is enabled. Is it not enabled your GPU is in the blacklist.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:22 pm

Asmodean wrote:If you use chrome on android and use chrome://gpu as an URL you could see if WebGL is enabled. Is it not enabled your GPU is in the blacklist.


Thanks, @Asmodean.

The option WebGL shows as "Hardware accelerated" for all devices of my list. Only the "Multiple Raster Threads" option shows as disabled.
B
73
S
13
G
3
Posts: 994
Reputation: 7,504

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:11 pm

use cocoon.io and canvas+ :
- smaller size
- smaller ram requirement (so goodbye force close)
- better performance
- cordova plugins
it's amazing !
B
16
S
6
Posts: 243
Reputation: 1,755

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:20 pm

Hmm, if you use crosswalk and the GPUs on your Android Devices are not in the blacklist, then the problem has to be your game.
What you can try is your game in Chrome on Android as web-game. It should be as fast or slow as the apk, then you can eliminate the possibility of a problem with Intel XDK.

The other thing I notice is the single large image (1.8 mb). What is the size?
This could be a problem. Ashley wrote about that.
https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:56 pm

mahdi71 wrote:use cocoon.io and canvas+ :
- smaller size
- smaller ram requirement (so goodbye force close)
- better performance
- cordova plugins
it's amazing !


@mahdi71

Cocoon is cool... said no one ever :?

I tried to use cocoon but I really don't want a splash screen of other company in my game and I don't agree to pay $ 500 for each application to remove it. I respect its position and I try not to create gossip about it, but I think that restriction must be vinculated to the free plan, but even I paying a signature monthly I am forced to display their logo (or pay $500). The strange thing is that I payed no more than 2/3 of this value and once, to buy the program used to produce the entire game. If I have to show the splash screen of another company, I prefer to show the Scirra's logo.

I still have hope that the Intel XDK for Android will be improved, as well as already happens to build iOS applications.
B
73
S
13
G
3
Posts: 994
Reputation: 7,504

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Asmodean wrote:Hmm, if you use crosswalk and the GPUs on your Android Devices are not in the blacklist, then the problem has to be your game.


I think if the game has a problem why it runs smoothly in the web browser and also through the iPhone's application? I think the XDK is the problem and, in this case, and maybe I have nothing to do, except to use cocoon.io (no way) or give up to publish the game for android devices (or even to give up to use C2 and wait for C3).


Asmodean wrote:The other thing I notice is the single large image (1.8 mb). What is the size?
This could be a problem. Ashley wrote about that.
https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory


I have read it. Just an image has this size and its resolution is 854x480, but I'll try to do some tests, removing or changing something to optimise it.
B
73
S
13
G
3
Posts: 994
Reputation: 7,504

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:06 pm

I think if the game has a problem why it runs smoothly in the web browser and also through the iPhone's application?


That baffles me and yes, if the game is faster in the browser on your device than an apk, the problem has to be Intels XDK.

You could try on your Moto G with Android 5.1 to make an App in the XDK without Crosswalk and see if this makes a change. So you can see if its a problem with Crosswalk.
Do you use Cordova plugins? Maybe one plugin cause a problem.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests