A website like FB, just smaller with C2 & PHP?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:44 pm

Would I be able to code for example a mini Fb website, with the use of C2 & PHP? It would be a lot quicker to do the GUI with C2 though, that's why I'm asking...
Burry me with my empty hands sticking out the ground, so that all can see, that the one who had the world on his hands, died with them empty.
B
19
S
4
G
4
Posts: 133
Reputation: 3,070

Post » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:18 pm

Kind of. The problem with C2 is that it operates 100% on canvas, which is distinctly different than how fundamental HTML5 works.

But yes, it is doable-ish.

I am still hoping that C3 does non-canvas layers too, but we'll see.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:36 pm

I'm afraid that so much canvas use would slow the website down.. I barely ever used canvas in my other websites. But well, the website is very much simplistic, I shouldn't worry about that. Thanks @gumshoe2029
Burry me with my empty hands sticking out the ground, so that all can see, that the one who had the world on his hands, died with them empty.
B
19
S
4
G
4
Posts: 133
Reputation: 3,070

Post » Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:58 pm

No, it won't slow it down (assuming you design it properly), but it will make it impossible for Google (or other search engines) to cache sites properly and hurt your SEO rating, and other undesirable effects.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:53 pm

Well, that's even more horrible :/ Do you think I'm better off coding it entirely?
Burry me with my empty hands sticking out the ground, so that all can see, that the one who had the world on his hands, died with them empty.
B
19
S
4
G
4
Posts: 133
Reputation: 3,070

Post » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:43 pm

I am currently using a program called Bootstrap Studio that does most of the HTML for me, but I still have to hand code all of the JavaScript. :(

Bootstrap Studio is another British startup, and I bought their lifetime license. I seem to have this thing for British startups.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests