Ability to include fonts?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:37 pm

Hi,

Is there a feature where we can include fonts in our apps? Or be able to tell the string to get the font from the local directory of the app?

Because installers that install fonts into the windows font dir are bad as only super users can do that. It also means your font will be used for anything they want.

Would be a good feature, and yet another that Construct has over MMF.

-Alex
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:42 pm

How do you think this might best be achieved? Fonts being able to be put in to the resources bar?
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,228

Post » Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:12 pm

I'm not sure what the resources bar is XD.

But i thought it might be good to have a file selector when choosing the font to use, then a button saying "use expression".

The expression would be "appdirectory+"/myfont.font" or whatever. Could be cool :). Although im sure theres many ways to do this.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:28 pm

[quote="Ashley":1lwpt87w]How do you think this might best be achieved? Fonts being able to be put in to the resources bar?[/quote:1lwpt87w]

I think that the putting them into resources bar is a good idea. Btw, it would be nice if the users could choose whether they want to save the resources externally or internally when building a project.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:17 am

[quote="Drasa":1ryj1mkw][quote="Ashley":1ryj1mkw]How do you think this might best be achieved? Fonts being able to be put in to the resources bar?[/quote:1ryj1mkw]

I think that the putting them into resources bar is a good idea. Btw, it would be nice if the users could choose whether they want to save the resources externally or internally when building a project.[/quote:1ryj1mkw]

Or specifically some recources perhaps. Like you can specify which recources are to be handled externally and internally etc. This way you could use an updater to update stuff more easily.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:00 am

Yeah, it could be cool to deliberately store sprites externally once the game is built to an EXE. I'd love it if people could mod my games easily!!

It worked for halflife :)
B
4
S
1
G
5
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1,546

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:25 am

It would be useful for development as well, since currently (I think) if you try to update the graphic of a sprite, everything you have put on it is simply thrown away. Disappointing.

Similar effect when you cut objects from one layer to another. It completely destroyed my code. :\ But! Lesson learned.
B
4
S
2
G
6
Posts: 161
Reputation: 2,597

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:29 am

[quote="Dines":35ffx30t]Yeah, it could be cool to deliberately store sprites externally once the game is built to an EXE. I'd love it if people could mod my games easily!!

It worked for halflife :)[/quote:35ffx30t]
Would be great.. so that we could add in our games not only a simple level editor, but also the capability to add own graphics and music! 100% moddable.. totally amazing!
B
2
S
1
G
5
Posts: 70
Reputation: 1,540

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:28 pm

I can see this being useful.. I agree they should be in a resource bar as that is the logical place. Ditto for allowing custom files/binaries :)

Tim
B
2
G
5
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,302

Post » Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:42 pm

I'm sure everything could be modularized out as resource, including levels -- but that would probably end up making the frame editor a lot more generalized as a tile editor if you were gonna do that. As a solution, in MMF my approach was to re-impliment a tile loader from scratch to allow for user-created levels for my game. Many MMF games use that now, but it's not exactly the most easy thing to impliment.

It really depends on the sort of tile-based (or whatever) solution you end up making for your game, because in a lot of these cases I'd wonder why not just release the entire source file to the game if you don't want to impliment your own tile engine.....

Alternatively, we could also have a tile blitter extension on top of the current coordinate-based system which makes tile-based games a lot faster to implement these sort of levels made with dedicated external tile editors, or "in-game editing" of the tiles ala Sonic debug mode, but hey, if we're gonna do that why not also implement a text-blitter for graphical fonts too while we're at it, and then we wouldn't need to include vector font files in the first place XD

I like your guys ideas :V
B
2
G
5
Posts: 34
Reputation: 1,318

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest