about rpg games

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:06 pm

hello i am creating an rpg game so in rpg games there were houses which you can enter in by going near house door and also come back to map throgh same door so i want to know how do i do that like getting inside house and come back to world map through the same door
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:32 pm

Inside house & outside house are 2 differend layouts. So, when some condition is met (usaly overlapping some sprite while a key is pressed) goto another layout. That is the easy explination.

But it brings some 'to do' & 'to watch for' things with it.

You need to learn the concept of 'global' objects & variables, decide if you go with 2 event sheets or just stay with 1, etc .........

And that al is largely coverd in the forums.
https://www.google.be/search?q=scirra+g ... scirra.com

This should help you to get gooing.
B
33
S
18
G
27
Posts: 2,447
Reputation: 20,358

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:44 pm

is this will work by just making my sprite "global"
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:50 pm

When you make the player 'global', it will survive the layout change.
B
33
S
18
G
27
Posts: 2,447
Reputation: 20,358

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:54 pm

i want when it gets back to world map it will postion just near the door of house
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Post » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:00 pm

On layout start up
Position 'it'.

But if player dont have to press a key ... meaning ... it kinda autotransports ... it will will inmediatly fly back.
Unless .....
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rasdgcm7h5na2 ... .capx?dl=0
B
33
S
18
G
27
Posts: 2,447
Reputation: 20,358

Post » Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:41 am

I had the same question the other day and another forum member helped me it. Check it my post.

how-do-i-position-the-player-moving-in-and-out-of-layouts_t179540

Hope it helps! Let me know if you need zone clarification!
B
28
S
14
G
21
Posts: 179
Reputation: 13,548

Post » Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:47 am

how do i make cutscenes for my rpg games plzzzz help...
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:10 am

i dont get it how do i use global variable to position player can you be bit more descriptive...
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Post » Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:02 pm

hello everyone i m currently on making an rpg game and have problems:
1. maked two layouts L1-city and L2-shop and have made a door as collision point to go from L1 to L2 but when i come back from L2 to L1 i want that my player should be postioned at same postition as it was before entering the shop ...how to do .... and also
2. I want an npc to talk by player colliding with npc and by pressing enter the TEXT WILL APPEAR AND POSTIONED AT BOTTOM of screen PLZZZZ HELP...
B
9
S
4
G
1
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1,488

Next

Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest