acceptable memory usage?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:37 pm

@ome6a1717 - definitely using Spriter, certainly not with frame-by-frame animations.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:16 pm

@ome6a1717

More specifically this is how they do it (UbiArt Framework):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_QhZYTukac


If you're interested in something similar for Construct 2, try Spriter since it has C2 integration.
spriter-c2-plugin-update-3-9-14_t75748?&hilit=spriter
B
33
S
12
G
7
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7,582

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:39 pm

@Ashley
@KFC

Perfect. I will have to do some research. Thanks!
B
42
S
12
G
1
Posts: 540
Reputation: 4,213

Post » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:03 pm

I ran into this problem recently myself.. had my project up to 750 MB. It builds up a complex, but static, image using really big (600x600) stacked layers, each with one sprite on it.

What I did was instead of having every possible image be a different animation, and thus always be loaded into video memory, each part of the image had 1 frame that was loaded from the server (via Load Image from URL) when needed. I wrote a preloader (actually, a PHP script that generates a preloader, but I digress...) that I plugged into the index.html that Construct 2 generates when you export your project and now it still works just fine but only uses 35 MB of video memory.

So.. the moral I guess is if you're using too much memory there's ways you can work around it. Most laptops and desktops won't really care until you get up over 500 MB. I haven't done anything for mobile yet but I know they have a lot less RAM in general.. you need to think about memory management from the beginning.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 37
Reputation: 749

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Colludium and 9 guests