Active Layer changes when dragging objects -> Projects Bar

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:59 pm

Do you guys experience a sudden change of the Active Layer when dragging objects from the Projects Bar?

I was going to report this as a bug report but I can't prove this bug but this always happen to me. I can only give a clue, a description and a possibility.

Image

Not exaggerating but this literally happened to me a thousand times already but I just ignore it. I always keep changing the active layer on my properties bar because whenever I drag & drop from the Projects Bar to the Layout Editor, the active layer sometimes (maybe 1 out of 15 to 125) changes. It is actually quite annoying the more it happens.

Image

I got a suspicion (I'm not really sure) but I think that when I drag an object from the projects bar, the active layer changes because the layer bar is also docked
there but only hidden. So when I drag, a layer on the layers bar behind the projects bar is selected.

But I currently can't prove it on a .capx since I don't know the cause
and I can't somehow reproduce it without making a big dummy project. And that might be a waste of time if it doesn't reproduce it successfully.

So that's why, I here now ask if you guys have experienced this? And have you found the cause?

@Ashley , I can't provide any evidence or .capx but can you take a look at this. You might be able to figure it out.
Last edited by chadorireborn on Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
63
S
18
G
90
Posts: 1,118
Reputation: 59,540

Post » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:32 pm

This won't help but I added 30 layers and did multiple tests of drag and drop (Project and Layers docked like you). The layer never changes.

If when you remove the Layers bar you don't have this problem, your theory could be right.
B
12
S
7
G
4
Posts: 114
Reputation: 3,067

Post » Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:55 pm

@Pandadoor - Thank you for trying. If the theory is correct, I think it would be a good thing since a fix can be made but the problem is that I can't prove it & you tried and it doesn't reproduce.

I think this is more like a glitch rather than a bug on heavy / loaded projects maybe caused by an instant refresh after dragging objects.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
63
S
18
G
90
Posts: 1,118
Reputation: 59,540

Post » Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:32 pm

chadorireborn wrote:I got a suspicion (I'm not really sure) but I think that when I drag an object from the projects bar, the active layer changes because the layer bar is also docked
there but only hidden. So when I drag, a layer on the layers bar behind the projects bar is selected.


Update: I just found out that my suspicion is correct. In some cases when dragging objects from the projects bar when the layer bar is also docked behind it. There are some cases that (even when a layer is locked) the layer can be selected, therefore changing the active layer.

I found it out because I was observing the properties bar while dragging. Though, it is only by chance. It is probably a glitch.

Update: It also happens when Ctrl + V ... So I believe I am mistaken before. It seems that it really just change active layers randomly after the properties bar refreshes
after pasting object or dropping object from the project bar.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
63
S
18
G
90
Posts: 1,118
Reputation: 59,540


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: huZba, Refeuh, tdcostas and 5 guests