actual gameplay size

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 22, 2013 1:26 am

Hi, so i have created a game but i want to see how it will actual look like on a mobile phone. Using the local wifi method has the address bar which isn't accurate.

I am aware of the cocoon service that plays the apk file on the phone. Can i use that to determine the actual size?

thanks
B
9
S
1
Posts: 80
Reputation: 687

Post » Sun Sep 22, 2013 4:16 am

[QUOTE=iikii] Hi, so i have created a game but i want to see how it will actual look like on a mobile phone. Using the local wifi method has the address bar which isn't accurate.

I am aware of the cocoon service that plays the apk file on the phone. Can i use that to determine the actual size?

thanks[/QUOTE]
Did you make sure to set Hide Address Bar to yes under your projects Configuration Settings in Construct? Other than that I found a similar thread regarding this issue specifically for Windows Phone 8 exported games. To get rid of the utility bar at the top that displays battery, wifi, etc. you simply had to look into the MainPage.XAML and change a line of code from true to false. If I remember correctly it was shell:SystemTray.IsVisible="True">. However, that is specifically for exporting to Windows Phone 8 and using Visual Studio. I'm not familiar with cocoon :( I hope this helps!
B
9
S
2
Posts: 34
Reputation: 679

Post » Sun Sep 22, 2013 4:40 am

@iikii

I just did a quick test on my phone (Samsung's Note 2) and I managed to request full screen (on button touched > [Browser]request full screen) within Chrome for Android perfectly. Afterwards, I gave it a try with Samsung's own browser and I couldn't request full screen through the button. That's not a problem since I simply went to its settings > Labs > selected "Quick Controls" (hides URL bar) and "Full screen" (hides status bar). Depending on your phone's own browser you may find similar settings for when a button request from within the game doesn't help.

Also, just in case, I gave it a shot with my iPad in Safari but I couldn't request fullscreen, not even with Chrome.

Hope that helps!
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 34
Reputation: 2,022


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests