Adding sounds

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:51 pm

As a Construct 2 newbie, I wanted to add sounds to my game (of course!) and hunted around in the tutorials and forum for pointers on how to go about it, but couldn't find any.

In the end, througn trial and error (quite a bit of that), I worked out how to do it (insert an Audio object in the Layout, import sound files in the Project Bar, ...).

Is there room for a mini-tutorial on adding sounds (I'd be happy to write it)?

Or have I missed seeing documentation that was staring me in the face?Velojet2011-11-28 18:59:02
B
105
S
20
G
12
Posts: 549
Reputation: 20,320

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:29 pm

I guess this would make a useful tutorial for beginners - we're still working on our manual but it generally is going to be a reference rather than a 'how-to' guide. So try writing up a tutorial! Anyone can submit tutorials on the site.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:45 pm

Thanks for the prompt and positive response, Ashley. I'll get on to it.

BTW, I think Construct 2 is a FANTASTIC game engine/dev environment. I started writing games (just as a hobby) in 1987 in USCD Pascal and Turtlegraphics. I marvel at the Construct 2 UI and code generator - absolutely BRILLIANT work!
B
105
S
20
G
12
Posts: 549
Reputation: 20,320

Post » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:48 pm

OK, I've now completed and posted my Adding sound - a beginner's guide tutorial.

Since I came up with the proposal to write this tutorial, the Manual has been published, covering quite a bit of the material I'd thought of incorporating. So following Ashley's suggestion, I've oriented my tutorial to be a practical step-by-step guide and a sequel to the main Beginner's Guide , with links to relevant sections of the Manual.
B
105
S
20
G
12
Posts: 549
Reputation: 20,320

Post » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:45 pm

I don`t want to spam with new threads so i`ll ask here. I have my game finished, sound is ok when i try to play the game offline from my computer or in preview mode in C2.

The problem is when i upload the game on the internet there is no sound, i imported few .wave sounds and C2 converted them in to m4a and ogg...can`t see why they are not played while game is uploaded on the internet. I have sound in Sound and Music folders in C2, but both wont play. Also i replace the same sounds in the folder converted with audacity after i exported the game in HTML5, but no result. Please help
B
10
S
3
G
3
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,317

Post » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:52 pm

@legora: check for errors in the browser. See also the section on "No audio plays".
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:38 pm

[15:20:00.037] GET http://racing-flashgames.com/HTML%205%20Game/Parking%20Lot/media/menu%20sound.ogg [HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found 62ms]

Well this is the error i guess, if you know how to fix it i`ll be glad :), btw i can`t find "no audio plays" section
B
10
S
3
G
3
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,317

Post » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:55 pm

ok now i need to place this somewhere, .ogg = audio/ogg i added this in offline appache file in game but it doesn`t work. My website server is on IIS i think maybe thats the problem?
B
10
S
3
G
3
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,317

Post » Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:56 pm

It is ok, i wrote to my host i hope he`ll fix it.
B
10
S
3
G
3
Posts: 54
Reputation: 3,317

Post » Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:34 am

Can someone advise how to stop the background music from the first layout and start the music for the second layout at the same time? My project just keeps playing the first layout/level music all the way through.
B
4
Posts: 3
Reputation: 208

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PixelatedTrip and 0 guests