additive lighting + shadows. edit: .Capx

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:54 am

@keepee This is awesome! Great work! I would love to use this in a future project, if you decide to share the capx. :)
B
8
S
2
G
4
Posts: 64
Reputation: 3,199

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:24 am

Okay, that's some very impressive stuff. You plan on sharing the code for it? Because this would be very handy to have available.
B
94
S
37
G
11
Posts: 404
Reputation: 11,275

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:07 am

I agree, great job.

I can't wait until Scirra releases an official plugin to do this. I have just the game in mind.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
82
S
14
G
7
Posts: 975
Reputation: 11,037

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:43 am

Impressive. Especially if it is done via events.

There's just one issue you could have an eye on:
After about 3 minutes of dragging things around, Firefox was bloated to almost 3 GB RAM usage. All additional lighting and shadowing was gone, just the pure objects remained, and neither the canvas nor Firefox reacted anymore.
Maybe that memory leak only occurs in my combination (FF 23.0.1, WinXP 32bit), but it's worth investigating.
Image
B
24
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,821
Reputation: 8,279

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:06 pm

This is awesome. I had given this a lot of thought and had decided it couldn't be done just with basic events. Could you at least share the idea behind it?

Regards;
Wind.
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 332
Reputation: 3,149

Post » Sun Aug 25, 2013 5:10 pm

That looks really cool! I'm also interested in seeing how you did it :)
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:36 am

B
42
S
17
G
17
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 17,471

Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:59 pm

I've updated the original post to have the .capx and a summary

@tulamide i'm not getting that leak? although firefox doesn't really work at all on my computer because i have an ancient graphics card
B
28
S
8
G
1
Posts: 469
Reputation: 4,683

Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:48 pm

very impressive lighting system a MUST HAVE FOR CONSTRUCT2 USER !!!!
B
85
S
14
G
6
Posts: 72
Reputation: 7,237

Post » Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:57 am

@keepee I can reproduce it every time I start the demo. It isn't even needed to do anything. Just running the demo. Within less than 20 seconds I can see FF's RAM load raising from 300 MB to over 1 GB (at that point I stopped the tests), and most of the acquired RAM isn't released after closing the page. A FF restart is needed. Now that you described, how you did it, I wonder if it is the canvas plugin having issues? Maybe I should alert @ROJOhound just to make sure.

EDIT: I just tested it with Chrome 29 with the same issue. So, if I'm not the only one working with WinXP 32bit and one of these two browsers, there has to be others experiencing the same. It's just that you are not aware of it when running the demo for just a minute or so (assumed, most people will have more than 2 GB RAM)tulamide2013-08-28 06:09:15
Image
B
24
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,821
Reputation: 8,279

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests