Admob Ads banner bug.

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:53 pm

Problem Description
Admob ads plugin banner doesn't display correctly when plugin property overlap is set to no.

Attach a Capx
APK Overlap yes: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6qbymkqjjknui ... s.apk?dl=0
APK Overlap no: https://www.dropbox.com/s/87edb2x6k4c7v ... o.apk?dl=0

Description of Capx
Allowes you to set the banner in different positions so you can see how it displays wrong in each position.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
    Step 1 [Set overlap to no, export with intelxdk, run the apk on your device.]
    Step 2 [Set overlap to yes, export, run apk.]

Observed Result
When overlap is set to no the banner ad is shown in the wrong position. For example if you set it to show at bottom it will appear in the middle of the screen. If you set it to show at top it won't appear at all since it will be displayed outside of layout....

Expected Result
When overlap is set to no the banner should shrink the layout down a bit so it can fit in view and display itself without overlaping the layout.

Affected Browsers
    [YES] Chrome: (YES/NO)
    [YES] FireFox: (YES/NO)
    [YES] Internet Explorer: (YES/NO)

Operating System and Service Pack
Any device.

Construct 2 Version ID
Release 206 [64-bit] worked fine in versions from about 2 months ago.

P.S. @Ashley pretty please read this this thread to get a better idea of whats happening, it has screenshots and everything.
P.S.S. There are 2 reason why I tend to lean on the side that this might not be the plugins fault. First of all the version that comes with C2 worked perfectly about a month or 2 ago when I published my last game.

And second of all, I tried multiple versions of the admob plugin this time(the one that comes with C2, a newer one that I had on my hdd, and the latest version downloaded straight from cranberry's site) and they all behave the same. So even if lets say cranberry made some changes that messed things up in the latest version I don't see how that would olso break previous versions of the plugin. Wouldn't it affect just the current and future versions from where the change was made?

That's why I think it's eighter C2's fault or intelxdk/cordova or admob themselves, or somewhere in between.
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Mon Aug 10, 2015 9:37 pm

had this same issue with no luck and minimum responses on the forums, but it seems as though I'm not the only one. just set my banner ad to overlap:yes and moved everything up. so far so good... but not necessarily ideal, especially for some other projects I have. I have a feeling it might not be too difficult of a fix, hopefully they'll hit it on the next build.
B
73
S
19
G
9
Posts: 376
Reputation: 9,231

Post » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:00 pm

I actually hope it gets fixed quite fast, like in the next stable release that we are supposed to get soon. Overlap set to yes will be disastrous for my next game @mudmask ...:(
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:39 am

got this too
also with iad official plugin
all with crosswalk
B
46
S
16
G
8
Posts: 794
Reputation: 8,335

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:08 am

VIKINGS add me on facebook, www. facebook . com / mpgmahal.tobi
we have same issue and i dont know what to do anymore, i cant fix it can you please add me so you can contact me asap when you already fixed the problem
B
6
S
1
Posts: 22
Reputation: 461

Post » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:39 am

There is no way for eighter of us to fix the problem @cbechan . We have to wait for a fix.
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:45 am

Any word on this... ? still having issues
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:33 am

is there any other way to have ads?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 22
Reputation: 461

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:52 am

Yes @cbechan , you can use other ad networks providing there is a plugin for them. So search the forums and google, and see what your options are.
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 3:25 pm

Does this still happen in r212.2 with the latest cranberrygame cordova plugin?
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,570

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests