Admob Question

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:16 pm

Hello guys,
I have created a game that include some swipe menus.
The game works pretty well, but after i add the Admob Ads, the game have frame loss.

This is the implementation.
Layout 1 (Loading Layout): On loader layout complete - Admob preload banner ad
Layout 2 (The Game With the Slide): On start of layout - Show banner ad at position X and size Y

Am i doing something wrong?
Thank you!
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307

Post » Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:26 pm

PS: I Export the game in Intel XDK -> Cordova

The plugin is: com.cranberrygame.phonegap.plugin.ad.admob

Maybe it helps.
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307

Post » Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:40 pm

Sorry to bother, I don' t have the answer, but can someone help me? Do I need to preload the banner, when i want the banner to be shown "on the start of the layout"? And can I preload it on the 1st layout only and than use it on etc. 3rd layout?
B
10
S
1
Posts: 42
Reputation: 620

Post » Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:16 pm

Bumb... Anyone?

Is there any other plugin for Ads?

Thank you!
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307

Post » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:09 pm

Let's see.. this is a test project that will make you understand what I am saying.

Slider.CAPX

I mean, if you let the Admob Ads ON, when you slide to the other screan, the game will do some frameloss, a bit laggy.

But if Admob Ads is OFF, the game works perfectly. No lag, no spikes...
So I think the Admob Ads is reducing game performance.

Am I correct?

On the PC Preview, you won't see the frameloss. You have to play this on a device.

I export the project into Intel XDK - Cordova.
Added the plugin named: The plugin is: com.cranberrygame.phonegap.plugin.ad.admob

Any help mates?
Thank you!
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307

Post » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:27 am

Bump...
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307

Post » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:47 am

I can't help you, I think the problem is not on AdMob call logic but maybe your game not well optimized. By the way in my game (IntelXDK///cranberrygame///the ads works pretty well) I used AdMob banners and interstitial, on interstitial side the "preload" is very important, but in banner side I just used "Show Banner" and "Hide Banner" functions (without "preload") /// In my case I used Bottom centered size Banner, not a smart///

So I think the Admob Ads is reducing game performance
Yes, I think you right. In my new project, the AdMob "preload" step make game a little lag. I guess my trivia game was pretty simple and well optimized, so there is no lags. The new project is much more complicated and I'm pretty sure the main reason is a bad optimization of my code etc together with "preload" function make this "lags"
Last edited by Nagval333 on Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImage
B
42
S
17
G
3
Posts: 155
Reputation: 5,096

Post » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:03 am

For performances issues, always do refer to the performance tips and memory usage tips to make sure you implemented your project correctly in the first place.

It is possible indeed that the "smart banner" type causes some issue, since it's kind of resizing the ad "on the fly".

Last thing to do is to preview your project over wifi and profile it in the debugger to have a better clue as to what may cause the issue (rendering, CPU, etc...).
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,319
Reputation: 87,487

Post » Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:34 pm

Hey,
Thank you for your replies.

I think the problem is not on AdMob call logic but maybe your game not well optimized.

The .CAPX file have only slide function and the Admob Plugin. I do not think is not optimized well. The file is almost empty.



It is possible indeed that the "smart banner" type causes some issue, since it's kind of resizing the ad "on the fly".

You are right. I changed to 'Banner', and it moves a bit better. Just a bit. Still have that lag/frame drops.

Other ideas?
Thank you kindly!
B
7
Posts: 35
Reputation: 307


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests