advice for exporting for windows universal 8.1

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:38 am

Hi,
I can't seem to get the Windows 8 universal app going. My game crashes both on the desktop and phone when I export using the universal option.

If I chose any other (WP8, WS8 or WS8.1) my app works fine.
It builds and deploys the universal solution , but doesn't load past the splash screen and crashes back to the desktop.
Anyone have anymore ideas for how to get this going, it would be really handy to work on it as a universal project rather than two separate ones.
Cheers
Last edited by roachhd on Mon Aug 11, 2014 2:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:22 am

you might be able to see what its crashing on in Visual studio to help give you and idea what wrong
there's a little window on the bottom that says what its currently doing it might show you some errors

i it shouldn't be a C2 problem but it might be in your code
i just exported using universal and everything worked fine .
you should also try making sure your Pc is fully updated
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:21 am

@volkiller730 Thanks for your reply. My PC is up to date, I didn't even think of checking through VS, i just put it straight on the phone, I'll check it out tonight.
Cheers
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:45 pm

I've exported again and this time was able to run the WS version (from the Universal export), but was still unable to get WP going.
Visual studio showed the build was successful, so I ran the debug, this is what came up in the output
=============================================================================================
'WWAHOST.EXE' (Script): Loaded 'Script Code (MSAppHost/2.0)'.
Unhandled exception at line 1721, column 4 in ms-appx://19b62d92-1d96-45c8-a28e-fa277857b857/c2runtime.js
0x800a138f - JavaScript runtime error: Unable to set property 'hasCurrentMatMV' of undefined or null reference

The program '[4944] WWAHOST.EXE' has exited with code 0 (0x0).
=============================================================================

The section of code it referred me to was in c2runtime.js below is the section:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
var i, len, s;
for (i = 0, len = this.shaderPrograms.length; i < len; i++)
{
s = this.shaderPrograms[i];
s.hasCurrentMatMV = false;
if (s.locMatP)
{
this.gl.useProgram(s.shaderProgram);
this.gl.uniformMatrix4fv(s.locMatP, false, this.matP);
}
}
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm only one step above total noob status when it comes to javascript.
Any JS geniuses out there that could give e some advice?

I have tried changing the s.hasCurrentMatMV = false; to true (as well as the false within the 'IF')
but that didn't make any difference.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:46 pm

commenting out the snippet of code also makes no difference.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 2:12 pm

Windows Phone 8.1's WebGL support is spotty and some shader effects don't work. It's a bug in Windows Phone, not C2, the shaders work everywhere else. I'm afraid the only thing you can do is try to remove any affected shaders or wait for the next Windows Phone update that should fix it.

(It shouldn't crash on desktop though - are you sure your system is fully up to date?)
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,351

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 2:52 pm

Thanks @Ashley. The desktop version is running perfect thanks, its just the phone.

With regards to removing the affected shaders, would that just be a process of going through the c2runtime.js and removing all the references. Or would I need to alter my project in C2?
Thanks

(the export to WP8 also works great, so I am happy to continue using this, just curious about getting the universal projects going too)
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 3:12 pm

Always alter the project from C2, there is almost nothing you can usefully do modifying the auto-generated c2runtime.js file directly.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,351

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 3:53 pm

OK thanks @Ashley
B
10
S
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 895

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:47 pm

does it work if you export for WP then upgrade to 8.1?
B
44
S
18
G
8
Posts: 504
Reputation: 8,478

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheFoXeletan and 4 guests