AirConsole Game Dev Contest 2017

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:49 pm

Nice, I love the concept of AirConsole and programming is not a problem to me, but if someone could change the plugin to make the game fully on C2 it'll be awesome for many people!! :)

EDIT: @BackendFreak I just gave a quick try on the plugin and the pong demo and I have a question. When developing, how exactly do we test the game? Pressing F5 won't connect the controllers/smartphones, so do we have to export to the airconsole website everytime we want to test the game? Thanks in advance!
B
53
S
12
G
7
Posts: 133
Reputation: 9,380

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:10 pm

@siks you can upload your game on your test server (any hosting basically). Let's say you have your game placed on http://mygame.siks.com, then all you need to do is run it via the airconsole website. So you run the following URL in your browser: https://www.airconsole.com/?http://mygame.siks.com

In other words you put your website URL as a GET param of AirConsole website.

You upload your game to AirConsole sever when it's ready. No need to upload earlier. So upload on your server for testing/debugging and upload on AC server when it's ready to be published.
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,031
Reputation: 45,806

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:27 pm

@BackendFreak I see, it makes much more sense. I guess it should work with dropbox's public folder, right?
B
53
S
12
G
7
Posts: 133
Reputation: 9,380

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 8:53 pm

I don't use DropBox so I don't know. Let us know when you try :)
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,031
Reputation: 45,806

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:02 pm

Well it didn't work on exported projects but I guess they miss the screen.html and controller.html files.

It'll test it properly later when I have a little time.
B
53
S
12
G
7
Posts: 133
Reputation: 9,380

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:18 pm

So, I just learned Dropbox's public folder don't work anymore. Sigh.

Anyway, I exported the pong example and uploaded to [url]pong-siks-airconsole.bitballoon.com/[/url]. To use AirConsole, your index.html will become screen.html and you need to have a controller.html too. The bitballoon page won't upload something without a index.html file, which kinda makes sense, so I just threw an empty index.html.

Turns out doing https://www.airconsole.com/?pong-siks-airconsole.bitballoon.com/ like @BackendFreak just takes me to the main page ignoring the parameter so I'm not sure what's wrong.

I can, however, use their simulator using http://www.airconsole.com/simulator/#http://pong-siks-airconsole.bitballoon.com/. It loads the controllers super fast and you can even use your smartphone to login the game, but it takes a quite a long time to load the main page but it does load. Sadly, the controllers don't respond and the game is acting like there are no controllers on.

Of course, I'm trying some random free server for testing, as I don't own a server for me.

Any ideas?


EDIT: Using http://www.airconsole.com/?http=1#http://pong-siks-airconsole.bitballoon.com/ goes the same as the simulator.
B
53
S
12
G
7
Posts: 133
Reputation: 9,380

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:10 pm

To my mind airconsole is very intresting idea and i'd like to adopt my game that made in C2 It satisfied requierements of airconsole.

Unfortunetly main diffeculties connected with controller.html. Frankly speaking I'm not familiar with javascript good enough and would like to use controller generator from (http://developers.airconsole.com/tools/ ... oller.html).
During my experiments with it in console of Google Chrome I found that it sends messages to screen.html and the type of messages is not string but the object that contains the key of the object and it's condition "pressed".
I'm not expirienced developer to adopt javascript code of such controller it could just sends for example for d-pad messages as strings like "DPAD-LEFT", "DPAD-Right", "DPAD-stopLEFT", DPAD-stopRight" to screen.html.

Is there a way to simplify work connected with creating controller.html with predefined controls to handle messages they send in C2.
B
13
S
6
G
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,602

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:50 pm

@BackenFreak @siks

I'm trying to do the same thing with the pong game that i got from this URL. (http://developers.airconsole.com/#!/guides/construct2#%2Fguides%2Fconstruct2) I uploaded the files to 000webhostapp.com. So I try to run the game in the simulator but the screen stays with the loading airconsole page. Please really need help with this so I can start working on my game.

This is the URL (https://www.airconsole.com/simulator/#h ... .com/Pong/)
B
11
S
3
G
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 1,398

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:42 pm

I even remember I asked Ashley in the past if he could point us where exactly should we change paths in order to be able to put related files under separate directories.... but got no reply so this would need to be investigated.


I hope this was just an oversight on his part, I believe AirConsole and Construct2 is a good pairing.
Check out my completed games on the Arcade! Capt. Doe Save the Universe! & Clicker Wizard!
B
70
S
19
G
8
Posts: 639
Reputation: 9,674

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2016 6:46 am

Hi, I got a stupid question (I don't know coding), let's say we created a joystick using AirConsole Controller Generator. Do we copy and paste it into project that we exported?
B
22
S
5
G
2
Posts: 210
Reputation: 3,382

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests