AirConsole Game Dev Contest 2017

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:53 pm

@Psychokiller1888 thank you for the update!! and all the best for the new year :D
Image
B
60
S
32
G
5
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,325

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:00 pm

Thank you, to you too happy new year!
B
36
S
12
G
3
Posts: 239
Reputation: 4,557

Post » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:30 pm

Zoglu wrote:Hi everyone,
I've tried the AirConsole plugin (downloaded yesterday from github), but it doesn't work with more than 1 player.

I did the following :
- exported the Pong example (HTML5, embed style), renamed "index.html" to "screen.html", added the provided "controller.html" file
- ran my game from AirConsole (address looks like : http://www.airconsole.com/?http=1#http: ... e-game-is/) on Firefox
- added 2 controllers one after the other (a phone and a tablet)

The game and the 2 controllers display correctly and start running. Two player icons (one for each controller) appear on the AirConsole bar, on top of the game. The following messages appear on Firefox console (among some WebGL errors) : "WebRTC active for device_id 1" then "WebRTC active for device_id 2".

However, only one player (the first who joined the game) can actually play and only the red paddle on the left appears. It seems like the "On device join" event only triggers once, no matter in which order the controllers join the game.

I didn't modify any of the provided files, and I'm running Construct 2 r239.
So how could I get this to work?


@Zoglu, I don't know if you found a fix for this yet, but have you tried setting the AirConsole maximum number of players to something greater than 1 in the editor?

I just realized this myself after 2 months of extremely convoluted development because only 2 devices were triggering the "On Device Joined" condition.

In the end, I set the max players to 99 so that I could detect when an unlimited number of players have joined, then sent a "Too many players" message to any device that joins after my in-game player limit of 8 players has been reached.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 436
Reputation: 18,092

Post » Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:26 pm

You have a ''on too many players'' trigger for that...
B
36
S
12
G
3
Posts: 239
Reputation: 4,557

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:44 am

Psychokiller1888 wrote:You have a ''on too many players'' trigger for that...


I was struggling with this one. Does "on too many players" give you the deviceid of the device which is trying to join? Maybe using AirConsole.deviceID?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 436
Reputation: 18,092

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:34 am

@cjbruce It gives you the device id through "AirConsole.deviceIdJoin as this was a join action
B
36
S
12
G
3
Posts: 239
Reputation: 4,557

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:29 am

Psychokiller1888 wrote:@cjbruce It gives you the device id through "AirConsole.deviceIdJoin as this was a join action


Here's what I tried, unsuccessfully:

1. Set AirConsole->max players to 8
2. In the simulator, "Add a New Controller" to create a total of 9 players.
3. The first 8 players triggered an "On Device Join".
4. The 9th player did not trigger an "On Device Join".

What I have not tried:

Instead of looking for an "On Device Join" for the 9th player, instead I should be using the "On Too Many Players" trigger, then inside its action use the "AirConsole.DeviceIDJoin" expression to get the deviceID of the 9th player?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 436
Reputation: 18,092

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:44 am

Logically, when Max player is exceeded, onDeviceJoin does not trigger, but onTooManyPlayers does. As you said, get the id of the 9th and upward using AirConsole.DeciceIdJoin
B
36
S
12
G
3
Posts: 239
Reputation: 4,557


Post » Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:46 pm

Hello , i have made game in AirConsole, also i added controller. When i try to test my game this happens ->
http://www.mediafire.com/view/0pqrhycddnvb8hf/pic1.png

This is my construct 2 code for game->
http://www.mediafire.com/view/xdncvd1ft32ih3u/pic2.png

This is how my file looks unzipped->
http://www.mediafire.com/view/0lejp69lab7cbq3/pic3.png

This is how my controller.html code looks ->
http://www.mediafire.com/view/mscyzr6f8lcjpec/pic4.png

So my problem it wont to read my controller.html and screen.html, as you can see on 1st picture, in debug console.
Do you have any solution for this, and do i need some special js file, because i readed that is js root of game.

If you can help me i'll be so thankfull.

:? :) :) ;)
B
14
S
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 840

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests