AirConsole Game Dev Contest 2017

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:20 pm

No problem, glad you got it right
B
34
S
12
G
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 4,490

Post » Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:26 pm

So we just submitted our game for the 2016 student competition (due today). It was a learning experience for all of us, but one of the biggest challenges we faced was how to use smartphones to control a fast-paced action game.

This is a summary of the iterations we had to go through:

1. D-pad with proportional control, sending D-pad position to the screen every 0.1 seconds. This turned out to be completely unplayable due to lag and the fact that your thumb was never where you thought it was.
2. D-pad with binary control (up-down-left-right-diagonal), sending data every 0.1 seconds. This was playable, but suffered from a ton of lag.
3. D-pad with binary control, sending data only when the buttons changed. This was WAY more playable, but the buttons were too small, and it was hard to tell where your thumb was.
4. Left Thumb: up/down. Right Thumb: left/right. This worked really well, but we lost the ability to control primary/secondary weapons. We then had to redesign the game mechanics so that the primary weapon was always on. We still had no way to do a secondary weapon, and we needed a way for people to self-destruct if they had lost all mobility.
5. Left thumb: forward/self-destruct. Right thumb: left/right. In order to get this to work, we had to totally change the mechanics to eliminate the ability to drive backward, and add an "automatic flipping" feature to the physics engine so that players could always get out of a bad situation.

The bottom line is that you can't treat an AirConsole game like a regular console game, where designing the controller is secondary. You have to design for a flat touchscreen first, then adjust your game mechanics as necessary so that everything works.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
50
S
15
G
25
Posts: 424
Reputation: 17,296

Post » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:19 pm

@cjbruce Thank you for the insight i'm working on on submitting for the 2017 version and this will greatly help me
Image
B
60
S
32
G
5
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,325

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:34 am

@ishmaelmoreno You are welcome! I'm glad it helps. We're big fans of the AirConsole platform at our school, and the better the games are, the better the experience for everyone.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
50
S
15
G
25
Posts: 424
Reputation: 17,296

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:40 am

@Psychokiller1888

We are trying to stay up-to-date on the AirConsole Construct 2 plugin, and are working as a team across multiple computers. We have all downloaded the AirConsole plugin from github at various times. On one of the computers we are getting the following error, and are unable to use the project file. Is this something that is an easy fix?

Image
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
50
S
15
G
25
Posts: 424
Reputation: 17,296

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm

Hi!

You are usng a depracted plugin or something like that, because action 8 is "Show add" and that is available on the plugin. I never remove actions/conditions/expressions so that never happens. Did you maybe download from my git repo? If so, just update your plugin and it should be fine. The versionning on mine is relative, as I cannot jump too many version numbers on the official plugin
B
34
S
12
G
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 4,490

Post » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:31 pm

Hi everyone,
I've tried the AirConsole plugin (downloaded yesterday from github), but it doesn't work with more than 1 player.

I did the following :
- exported the Pong example (HTML5, embed style), renamed "index.html" to "screen.html", added the provided "controller.html" file
- ran my game from AirConsole (address looks like : http://www.airconsole.com/?http=1#http: ... e-game-is/) on Firefox
- added 2 controllers one after the other (a phone and a tablet)

The game and the 2 controllers display correctly and start running. Two player icons (one for each controller) appear on the AirConsole bar, on top of the game. The following messages appear on Firefox console (among some WebGL errors) : "WebRTC active for device_id 1" then "WebRTC active for device_id 2".

However, only one player (the first who joined the game) can actually play and only the red paddle on the left appears. It seems like the "On device join" event only triggers once, no matter in which order the controllers join the game.

I didn't modify any of the provided files, and I'm running Construct 2 r239.
So how could I get this to work?
B
8
S
4
G
5
Posts: 33
Reputation: 2,818

Post » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:26 pm

I never tried the pong exemple, but it's pretty deprecated as the plugin got updated a lot lately. Make sure the plugin settings are correctly set for the max players. All I can say is that on join does trigger correctly
B
34
S
12
G
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 4,490

Post » Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:43 pm

@Psychokiller1888 sent you something via pm a while ago. Did you get it?
Image
B
60
S
32
G
5
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,325

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:40 pm

No more excuses for not having a cool controller now! The plugin just got my pull request merged, and I have added support for extended messages, making the official controller generator compatible. The generated controller is ready to use with your C2 game. Just update your plugin to at least version 1.4.6.1
B
34
S
12
G
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 4,490

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests