Airscape: The Fall of Gravity - OUT NOW!

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:25 pm

@Katala thanks, yeah that will be fixed in the next demo update.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Fri Apr 25, 2014 11:40 am

Nice work!
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 92
Reputation: 826

Post » Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:22 pm

i know a bit late, but @nemo, are you having the layers on 0 scale because of zooming/scrolling?
If yes, i can explain you how to maintain the zooming/scrolling with different scales on different layers + setting resolution option and unbounded scrolling.
"It's done when it's done"

Shadows of War
Buy on Steam ;)
B
24
S
10
G
7
Posts: 253
Reputation: 4,931

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:42 pm

@SgtConti yes I have set 0 scale HUD layer, 0 scale background and I have zooming camera.
B
44
S
5
G
5
Posts: 412
Reputation: 5,771

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:21 pm

@nemo here we go :D

First of all, make ALL layer scales to 1
Then instead of using your zoom value (For example 0.1) , zoom the layers(Not layout) with 0.1/(YourLayerScaleYouHadBefore/100)
Image
Here you also see that when one layer has zoomed in too far, it sets the zoom to the min/max value.
But it does that for every single layer you zoomed, since if 1 layer has zoomed to far, every other has too.

Then we come to the "what if we have zoomed in, and are coming to the end of the playable area?"
Image
MapSize is the X variable where the layout will end (For unbounded scrolling), for this example we will set it to 1920 (Whole playable layout 1920x1080)
Here you see, if they cross the Max values, it get's put pack into the playable area.

Explanation for Action 1 (Right Side Borders):
960 is the value of your default Width for the project/2 in my case its 1920/2 = 960
LayerScale(2) is in this case a layer that normally would have the layer scale = 100 (So here you need to pick you'r layer that normally would have a layer scale = 100)

Explanation for Action 2 (Left Side Borders):
Again 960 is the value of your default Width for the project/2
Same thing with LayerScale(2)

Explanation for Action 3 (Down Side Borders):
540 is the value of your default height for the project/2 (In my case 1080/2 = 540)

Now we come to Action 4
Don't ask me why i've done it this way, but it works, and im happy with it, but i can't explain it :D
But you can see 440 is = 540-100. and that is the default layer scale for my layer 2.

Now to: How to set the "Resolution"
Image
Here you see, first i define the 2 values that i want to be my new width/height resolution (ResX and ResY)
Then i set the canvas size to their Resolution.
Then i set the Layout Scale to the new Width Resolution / 1920 (My default Width Resolution)
And then in node webkit i set the height/width.
As you can see i use it together with WebStorage so the returning user doesn't always need to change the option again ;)

I hope this is explanation enough.
Remember ALL Layer scales MUST be = 1 in your whole project.
- Conti
Last edited by SgtConti on Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
"It's done when it's done"

Shadows of War
Buy on Steam ;)
B
24
S
10
G
7
Posts: 253
Reputation: 4,931

Post » Sun Apr 27, 2014 7:19 pm

@SgtConti Wow. That's enough info to create a full tutorial. I was originally handling each layers scale individually, but it resulted to lower framerate and a small lag and zoom speed variations with each of my layers. My project is using 8-10 layers and that could be the reason for lags. I will do my best to adapt your techniques into my project. Thanks big time for your efforts SgtConti and sqiddster.
B
44
S
5
G
5
Posts: 412
Reputation: 5,771

Post » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:28 am

Great job!!! love the gameplay and the graphic style.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 698

Post » Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:00 am

@nemo , no problem ;) the community is here to help.
Good look with adapting it into your project, these snippets are taken out directly from my project (SoW) so im pretty sure they work :)
For your concerns about lags, you should implement it, and see in the debugger if it really is the problem.
- Conti
"It's done when it's done"

Shadows of War
Buy on Steam ;)
B
24
S
10
G
7
Posts: 253
Reputation: 4,931

Post » Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:38 pm

We've released a demo on Steam to coincide with Intel's announcement that Airscape won 'Best Use of Physics' in their 'Level Up' competition!
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:51 pm

downloading the demo now cant wait to play ive been looking forward to this game since i first saw it
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests