Alpha mask

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:16 pm

Is there a way to blend background?
I mean to have 2 tyled background images and a 3rd image(mask) that sets one of the layers transperant, so the 2 backgrounds blend.
B
2
Posts: 18
Reputation: 286

Post » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:36 pm

On the Objects edit panel(left side) there is a set of tools called effects; and one of them being "blend mode"... you can try one of those. To be honest I have a blind spot for anything dealing with colour mixing :( but I hope there is a feature in there like "additive" that can help you :)

I only reply as it might help and it looks like it has been a few hours :D GL
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:13 pm

If you put the mask on top the "front" background image I think the "destination out" blend mode will do the job as it will make transparent the mask itself and all the parts it overlaps while leaving the background alone.

If you want the mask to be underneath your background image in the z-order I think "source in" will do the trick.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 917

Post » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:43 pm

Ok thanks
I think i tryed all the blend modes but ill try them again
B
2
Posts: 18
Reputation: 286

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:24 pm

Well i tried this several times and nothing came out. I tried all the blend modes and still nothing

here is the caps, can anyone make it work?

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19082408/Masking.caproj

Thanks
B
2
Posts: 18
Reputation: 286

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:30 pm

You need to save your project as a single file (capx).
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:36 pm

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19082408/Masking.capx

here you go
didnt know, sry
B
2
Posts: 18
Reputation: 286

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:04 pm

Make sure the layer has 'force own texture' enabled.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:39 pm

Ermmm still nothing happens
B
2
Posts: 18
Reputation: 286

Post » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:43 pm

You could create a more static version of the effect by using images with high feathering on the edges and transparent backgrounds, which would lend a merge effect when they cross over each other?



Without knowing your desired application though this may not be practical.Mr E Bear2013-02-09 14:46:49
B
49
S
14
G
3
Posts: 540
Reputation: 5,611

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: djcrazypants, marekmk and 6 guests