Alternatives to Illustrator

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Pack of illustrator graphic styles. Make your own logos, game titles, or anything you want.
  • Can anyone suggest any alternatives to Adobe Illustrator for creating vector artwork?

I'm thinking something as easy to use as Balsamiq Mockups , for drawing characters and other objects in my simple games for kids.

I want to create prototype games with artwork that is 'sketchy' -- the way I would draw it on pen and paper.

I'm not a graphic designer but I can sketch like most people. If one of the prototypes has potential, I can always request 'real' artwork from a professional.

I can use Photoshop but I don't think it's a drawing tool and I've just never found Illustrator intuitive.

Any suggestions?

• 'Can anyone suggest any alternatives to Adobe Illustrator for creating vector artwork?'

You could try SVG-Editor....its ok for basic vector work and it's free.

Heres a link to website-

website

I created a C2 project that includes a version you can test here-

C2 Test

good look

• InkScape (tutorials available on the excellent 2D game art for programmers)

Also topic moved, it's not directly related to C2.

• Thanks for the tips guys!

chrisbrobs - SVGedit looks most like what I'm looking for, but actually I found your C2 version way more intituive to use than the original.

I'm really confused though -- is your C2 version a duplicate of SVG done using C2? Please forgive the dumb question, I'm a relative newbie and definitely not a developer...

• I used Podes-Iframe plugin to embed the SVG application into my C2 aplication.

Here's a link to the tutorial I used-

Tutorial

You can find the plugin in the plugin section on these forums.

• Are you on mac or pc? Theres quite a few for mac.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads