An idea to improve Tilemap plugin of C2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 2:45 am

Hi,

There is no doubt that tilemap plugin is a very useful plugin. But many of us wish to have it in 3D-like.
I have an idea for the creator of the plugin. If he can modify the plugin, it will be amazing.

If we add 2 more parameters to the plugin parameters, this will give us a powerful 3D-like Tilemap editor. Each tile has Width and height and these 2 parameters describe the tile dimensions. But if we add 2 more parameters that can specify the depth of the tile (x shift , y Shift) (Of course these shifts are not real 3D). When we insert the tiles beside each others the first tile will be inserted with a dimension of (width+x shift , Height+y shift) but the location of it will be (X , Y) in such a way that the next neighbor tile will cover the depth of the previous tile. Where X is a multiple of the tile width only and Y is a multiple of tile height only.
I don't know if my description of the idea is clear or not but maybe the image will explain my idea and be more clear.

Note that the corner of the single tile at top-left and bottom right should be transparent (alpha) colored.

Image

Note that the image contains only shifting horizontally.
Thanks
B
56
S
18
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,487

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:08 am

while I admit this can be a nice way to add depth in a 2d game, it may break the compatibility with Tiled. There is also the collision issue (where on the blue part do we collide)
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:43 pm

There will be no collision issue at all, if the collision area at each tile will be limited to the same area of the front texture of tile (the brown texture in the example).
B
56
S
18
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,487

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:08 pm

Yeah, it can be very useful. I actually try to modify the tilemap plugin, but I haven't got a good result for the moment.
I try to make some none square tile.
Image

I would inform you if I arrive at something.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 179

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:58 pm

Vincent26 wrote:Yeah, it can be very useful. I actually try to modify the tilemap plugin, but I haven't got a good result for the moment.
I try to make some none square tile.
Image

I would inform you if I arrive at something.


I tried too but I'm not familiar with Java.
Waiting to hear good news ;)
B
56
S
18
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,487

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:38 pm

Maybe @Ashley will modify the plugin since he is the one who create it as I think.
B
56
S
18
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,487

Post » Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:46 pm

It's a good idea, but we would only do this for C3 at this point.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,420
Reputation: 194,549

Post » Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:58 pm

Ashley wrote:It's a good idea, but we would only do this for C3 at this point.

That would be fine. :) Please consider doing this if you have the time.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:00 pm

Really good idea. I tried to do something similar just for fun based on how the Original Prince of Persia tiles works and was a bit difficult to get it right. This would make it easier.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:38 pm

@Ashley

Agree with you, a powerful editor customize feature (c3) will allow developer to add his own tilemap functions.
B
108
S
26
G
271
Posts: 4,471
Reputation: 151,777

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Harolddadev and 7 guests