Android Audio - Intel XDK

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:13 pm

Good evening everyone : I came here because I used to have a lot of issues with audio in any version of crosswalk about 7 (sounds weren't looping, musics weren't playing at all).

I just wanted to share my experience with you : I happen to test my game on a Galaxy 2 (using an old phone makes you sure your game will work on almost any device), which had Android 4.2 version (jelly bean) installed.

Now, I tried to use my app on my professional phone (galaxy S4 mini), which had 4.4 (kitkat) on it, and I realized my audio troubles were gone !

So I installed 4.4 on my S2 (had to go to Cyanogen, since 4.4 isn't officially supported by the S2), and now everything works like a charm (even the gaps when the music loops are barely noticeable, if you leave a pause before the loop for example).

So I would highly recommend that you check the android you're using on your phone, and if you can make a test on a newer device : it definetely made the trick to me !

Hope it might help.

Regards.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 664

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:35 pm

brandnewman wrote:Good evening everyone : I came here because I used to have a lot of issues with audio in any version of crosswalk about 7 (sounds weren't looping, musics weren't playing at all).

I just wanted to share my experience with you : I happen to test my game on a Galaxy 2 (using an old phone makes you sure your game will work on almost any device), which had Android 4.2 version (jelly bean) installed.

Now, I tried to use my app on my professional phone (galaxy S4 mini), which had 4.4 (kitkat) on it, and I realized my audio troubles were gone !

So I installed 4.4 on my S2 (had to go to Cyanogen, since 4.4 isn't officially supported by the S2), and now everything works like a charm (even the gaps when the music loops are barely noticeable, if you leave a pause before the loop for example).

So I would highly recommend that you check the android you're using on your phone, and if you can make a test on a newer device : it definetely made the trick to me !

Hope it might help.

Regards.


When did you try it?
Have you try new Intel XDK with latest C2 version (r214 beta) ?
~Everyone can make GAMEs~
B
56
S
12
G
1
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,911

Post » Sat Oct 10, 2015 8:40 am

Hello, sorry for the delay : I'm not using the beta version of C2 (I'm on 212.2). But I truly believe the culprit was (for me at least) jellybean : now that I'm on kitkat, my game works flawlessly on my two phones (except that the loop in music is still slightly noticeable, but we're getting closer) :-)
B
10
S
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 664

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:42 am

Ah.. so that mean, we still must waiting for new C2 stable or beta version.
~Everyone can make GAMEs~
B
56
S
12
G
1
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,911

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests