Android Crosswalk Music Start Up Issues

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:58 pm

@BackendFreak Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and experience and being open! I am also thinking the same way you think not to allow people download a laggy game and create unhappy customers. I will check out the part you shared about API.

Regards and Happy Gaming
B
19
S
6
Posts: 179
Reputation: 2,202

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:26 am

I have the same problem since yesterday, music not loading...I moved it to sounds but now loading of game is very long:( I hope they will fix it soon.
B
5
S
2
Posts: 8
Reputation: 499

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:28 am

@apofis Hi try to reimport the music you used inside C2 then move to sound folder this worked for me. Also in another forum @mahdi71 suggested this.

ok i found a way !!
use intel xdk and then you dont have musics but :
1- download Advanced ApkTool
2- decompile your apk
3- recompile your apk
!!!!!
i dont know why but it work !
B
19
S
6
Posts: 179
Reputation: 2,202

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:36 am

apofis wrote:I have the same problem since yesterday, music not loading...I moved it to sounds but now loading of game is very long:( I hope they will fix it soon.


This is because you have "Preload sounds" enabled. This means that all sounds are loaded into RAM memory before the game starts.
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 934
Reputation: 38,577

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:41 am

BackendFreak wrote:
apofis wrote:I have the same problem since yesterday, music not loading...I moved it to sounds but now loading of game is very long:( I hope they will fix it soon.


This is because you have "Preload sounds" enabled. This means that all sounds are loaded into RAM memory before the game starts.


Yeah, but isnt it generaly better to use the Preload sounds? If I set it to disabled, will be game slower?
B
5
S
2
Posts: 8
Reputation: 499

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:07 pm

@BackendFreak WOW I didn't know preload sounds made the game start slower. Maybe that's why my game levels always are laggy in the beggining!
B
19
S
6
Posts: 179
Reputation: 2,202

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:22 pm

This is basically the reason why you have Music and Sound folders in C2. As you know both are just a sound files and can be treated same way (that's why it is possible to drag & drop them).

However Sounds are meant to be small. It is used for speciall effects, clicks etc. so usually sound is not longer than 3 seconds and very often it is less then a second. Such a short sound usually takes less then 50kB. So loading them at the start of the game shouldn't affect the overall loading time too much.

With music it is a bit different because music usually has several minutes, and that long sound files are already counted in MBs. So it affects the loading time.

Now when you have preloading sounds OFF, then the first time you sound will start it will be the time it gets loaded, so it might have a lag before it starts to play. So yes it is good to have it ON, because a game with laggy sounds is simply kind of frustrating.

In case that you have to move your music file to the sounds folder (this is a bug and will be fixed soon surely, but well if you have no choice at the moment let's focus on the currently possible solution) and it makes your game loading time too long you can try to load sounds manually.
So I would disable preload sounds in project settings, and load the sounds on your main screen in the background, to do so you simply use Audio object which has an action called "preload sound" or something like that (just from the top of my head).

Doing so your app loading time will stay normal. Your basic sounds/small sounds will load on main screen very fast. And while the game is on you don't have to preload music, simply start it.
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 934
Reputation: 38,577

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:28 pm

volcank wrote:@BackendFreak WOW I didn't know preload sounds made the game start slower. Maybe that's why my game levels always are laggy in the beggining!


I believe preloading sounds happens only at the start of the game - not layout. In your case it's a problem with rendering objects. You might want to check my tutorial to get rid of the switching layout lag: How to smoothly switch between layouts.
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 934
Reputation: 38,577

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:34 pm

@BackendFreak Very useful information. Thank you so much. I remember there was a comment to preload music or sounds for IOS becuase before there was a bug where I couldn't get sound to start. So I was always preloading with comments. Also now I think it is maybe best to keep short music with loops for a game rather than long music for performance.
B
19
S
6
Posts: 179
Reputation: 2,202

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:42 pm

@BackendFreak I will definetly check your tutorial! That should help a lot. Cause the game I am working on really heavy like I said. I am sure your tutorial will be really helpful. Thank you again.
B
19
S
6
Posts: 179
Reputation: 2,202

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alvaro2 and 12 guests