Android Touch Delay

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Jul 10, 2016 9:07 pm

Problem Description
There is a touch delay in my pinball game. I am getting constant emails regarding this. Even on newer phones running the game at 60FPS there is a delay. I cannot find a solution therefor I'm assuming it to be an internal problem and not my event structure. I read somewhere that using "on touch" can solve this - but it did not work.

Attach a Capx
It's 100mb with 3 years of work. No.

Description of Capx
Not applicable.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Events execute actions on touch
  • Export to cocoon.io
  • Receive emails and reviews stating it makes the game almost unplayable.

Observed Result
Guess.

Expected Result
Guess.

Operating System and Service Pack
Android mobile devices

Construct 2 Version ID
Latest stable release.

Current mood:
Frustrated, disappointed, and desperate for a resolution.
B
13
S
4
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,028

Post » Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:24 pm

Can you delete all but the relevant touch events and replicate the issue?

You have to give them something to work with. For all they know it could be just a bad collision polygon.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,236
Reputation: 105,591

Post » Sun Jul 10, 2016 11:19 pm

The touch object is on a layer with 0,0 parallax. It uses bounding box for collision, no poly. A user on the cocoon.io forum said he tested my game with a sony phone and there was no delay. But my moto X play, friends S3, another friends s5 - all touch delay.

Image

Edit:

Maybe this has something to do with it?
https://developers.google.com/web/updat ... away?hl=en

I don't know. When it comes to core stuff it's all greek to me. I should have finished highschool and spent 6 years in university buuuuuut I didn't and that's why Scirra has my money.
B
13
S
4
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,028

Post » Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:18 am

Order does matter.
The way it is, the variable won't be compared until the sheet is read again.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,236
Reputation: 105,591

Post » Mon Jul 11, 2016 6:10 am

1 Frame?
B
13
S
4
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,028

Post » Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:43 pm

Closing, please see the bug report guidelines, which describe in detail why we need a .capx and what to do in this situation.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests