[Android]Game loading takes forever? Let's get it fixed.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:57 am

@szymek

Preload sounds manually at the start of each layout. How long are the sounds? If they are short, you shouldn't have any trouble.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:11 am

@TiAm

It can be like 5 x 1 second, 5 x 2-3 seconds (it will be education app, so it will depends on actual topic);

anyway I hope that it will be fine :)

and as @jayderyu told me: even Unity has some problems with audio latency on Android
B
18
S
6
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,187

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:48 am

Bumping.

If you haven't starred this issue, please take a few seconds to do so. It's a really significant problem on mobile devices, and there hasn't been an update from google in over 3 months now... :|
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:41 am

★+1
This is very important issue. My game takes about 10 seconds to load. Now when I imagine it could be 2 sec......ahhh, hopefully, they'll fix it soon.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,650

Post » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:02 pm

My last game takes 30s because of only one music that is 2min long (I know, I couldn't shorten more because I created myself the loop upon an already done cc music). The rest have less than 1second of sound effects.
B
56
S
21
G
3
Posts: 601
Reputation: 6,610

Post » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:43 pm

Basically, this issue seems to have gone into limbo on google's end; they don't seem to have nailed down why decoding is taking so long, and there is no talk of trying to do what FF does (uses it's own decoder for ogg instead of the one built into android).

An audio-rich android game is basically off-the-books for now, because the load times would be utterly insane. :?

Ashley mentioned trying to integrate an ogg decoder into the C2 runtime; an asm.js implement should be nearly as fast as native, which would hopefully bring perf in line with firefox. But...there haven't been any updates on that.

I'll drop a new msg on the bug report to see if there are any updates.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,187

Post » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:01 am

Starred.
B
22
S
9
G
7
Posts: 421
Reputation: 6,543

Post » Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:11 pm

Help! I'm having the same problem
B
68
S
17
G
2
Posts: 94
Reputation: 4,742

Post » Thu Sep 10, 2015 12:11 pm

Any progress with this issue?
B
72
S
13
G
2
Posts: 990
Reputation: 6,971

Post » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:13 am

I hope google do something for this issue!
B
18
S
2
Posts: 23
Reputation: 957

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests