Animating with Families

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
  • So, I'm still fairly new to Construct and even more new to the paid version, so I'm having a bit of difficulty figuring out how to properly implement the Families feature.

First, some background:

The main character of my game has an invisible sprite with platformer behavior and a visible sprite with all the animations (walking, running, jumping, shooting, etc) set to the player's position every tick. To trigger these animations, I use the player object's platformer events to change the player_sprite object's animation (ex. If player is on ground and player is moving, set player_sprite animation to run).

NPCs (be they enemies or friendlies) will generally follow the same set of rules. They may not have quite the same range as the player, but they'll still have the basics (walk, run, jump, shoot, etc) that will trigger much in the same way (if object does platformer event, then visible sptrite does animation).

What I'd like to do:

Setting up individual events for every character would be a pain. So instead, I'd like to use families to simplify things and make it SUPER easy to add new characters on the fly. I've been careful to use the same naming conventions across character animations ("Walk", "Run", etc) so there's no issue there, but the think I'm REALLY struggling with is how to select which animation sprite belongs to the picked object sprite.

As I said, the object that actually MOVES is SEPARATE from the object that the player sees animating. They have no actual connection to each other as far as the game is concerned, aside from the "set sprite to object every tick" event (which still doesn't mean anything to Construct).

What can I do to make it so this works?

To summarize the intended functionality with an example event: