Animation not changing frames

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:46 pm

Hi I am new to construct 2 all my movement animation when I press the arrow keys are working just fine but when i press A which is my fire key the animation does not change frames it stays in frame 0. the code I used is if keyboard A is down, if walkDr = right (this is a variable) and not moving on platform ( I Inverted Platform is moving) Set animation to "FireIdleRight" (play from beginning) I did this for walking, Jumping and idling.

Sorry I can't provide any images because I don't know how I would like an answer for this please and thank you
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:02 pm

First of all did you properly changed these parameters ?
animation.png


Did you double check the animation name used in your event ? A single typo and it won't work.

If you don't know how to upload a screenshot, you can still upload your .capx, it's always simpler to help people when they share their file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
12
S
7
G
7
Posts: 450
Reputation: 4,276

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:13 pm

Coin-coin le Canapin wrote:First of all did you properly changed these parameters ?
animation.png


Did you double check the animation name used in your event ? A single typo and it won't work.

If you don't know how to upload a screenshot, you can still upload your .capx, it's always simpler to help people when they share their file.



thank you for replaying I did all that when I put the firing animation to one of the arrow keys it works fine but when I put it back on A or any other keys it does not work

Project.png


just found out how to use an image hope this helps
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:51 pm

Hi @shinaito ! Could you try setting the 'Key A is Down' to 'Key A is Pressed' and see if that works?
I might be wrong, but what might be happening is it's continually setting the animation while A is down so the animation never leaves frame 0.
I'm sure someone with more knowledge will correct me if I'm wrong. :)
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:44 pm

ryanrybot wrote:Hi @shinaito ! Could you try setting the 'Key A is Down' to 'Key A is Pressed' and see if that works?
I might be wrong, but what might be happening is it's continually setting the animation while A is down so the animation never leaves frame 0.
I'm sure someone with more knowledge will correct me if I'm wrong. :)


does not work the animation stays in frame 0
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:16 pm

Hmm... I would try focusing on one event and start removing conditions until it works. That would narrow down where the problem is. If pushing 'A' alone doesn't fire the animation, then maybe the problem is with the object or animation name.
You could also post your .capx so someone can take a look.
I can understand how frustrating it is when you know something should work, but it doesn't.
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:41 pm

ryanrybot wrote:Hmm... I would try focusing on one event and start removing conditions until it works. That would narrow down where the problem is. If pushing 'A' alone doesn't fire the animation, then maybe the problem is with the object or animation name.
You could also post your .capx so someone can take a look.
I can understand how frustrating it is when you know something should work, but it doesn't.


how do i post my .capx?
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:37 pm

shinaito wrote:how do i post my .capx?


A popular method is with dropbox. Just put your .capx in the public folder, get the public link, and paste the URL in the forum post.
If your reputation is high enough, I think you can just upload it as an attachment right in the forum post.
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683

Post » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:51 am

Message: shinaito is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
here
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:08 pm

shinaito wrote:here

Oops. Looks like you don't have enough reputation to post URLs. You could try to PM me the link if you would like.
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests