Animation + Platform Behavior Problem

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:47 pm

Well, yesterday my artist gave to me some animations to put in on my game. With my team we usually do traditional animation methods, and our final goal is to keep the animations clear and smooth as posible, I was using the platform Behavior to do the basic movement for the player, but after trying to make this movement I've got stuck:

1) The player has a turn animation when you press the opossite key (example: The player it's facing Right and I press Left Key)

2) The platform Behavior doesn't have any command for this type of animation and working with "key is down" doesn't work when i want the player proced to do two animations AKA the "turn and walk animation"

3) When the player makes the "Turn animation" i want to make the movement exactly like this example gif:

Image

4)Here is my conflictive event sheet:

Image

Thanks in advance if anyone can help me with this.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 959

Post » Sat Oct 04, 2014 6:05 am

make a blank sprite and give platform behavior.
then pin another sprite (with animation) above the blank sprite.
"If you want to move a mountain tomorrow, you should start by lifting stones today."
B
64
S
14
G
2
Posts: 291
Reputation: 6,666

Post » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:06 am

hey, thanks it might work, but i have an issue and my game is a multiplayer videogame with 8 persons playing at the same time, that would cause problems, and I'm looking for a way to make all the animations in one Sprite. =( I've been trying with other methods but still nothing :(
B
9
S
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 959

Post » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:36 am

@elisamuelps

you are asking for A key is down, this will trigger every tick

try using On key A pressed...this will only trigger once...
and play with on key realeased and variables to manage the animation...

look at this capx, jsut imagine the red square frames of animation is the turning animation (sinbce i could not find any animation that has ones).... this is a very easy solution, it may not be what you are looking for since this is very basic, but i think this should give you an idea, you can set an animation to loop to certain frame fo the animation, thats how i loop the walking and not form the begining.... any questions?? i hope this helps...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Lunatrap on Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:40 am

@elisamuelps

another suggestion i can give you is to not waste your artist's time until you have more expirience using C2... until you know how to do things 100% clear... then you can ask to add animations and complicated assets...
but until... make test and prototype and use place holder sprites form the net... like i did with this capx... :D
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:49 am

this capx is a little more polished... this needs more polish obviously, this is just a very basic example n.n
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
23
S
6
G
3
Posts: 316
Reputation: 3,461

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:47 am

no idea. yours is a basic question. maybe you can find the answer on FAQ
"If you want to move a mountain tomorrow, you should start by lifting stones today."
B
64
S
14
G
2
Posts: 291
Reputation: 6,666

Post » Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:15 am

Another way to do it is use timer, basically start timer when your key changed and switch to turn animation upon timer is reached, switch animation to normal walking.
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 553
Reputation: 4,924

Post » Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:16 pm

Lunatrap wrote:this capx is a little more polished... this needs more polish obviously, this is just a very basic example n.n


Thanks, Thanks, Thanks Thanks! Thank you very mucho for this!!! jejejejjejje.

I was able to implement your method with another system adapted for my game, now it works like a charm!

I wish i can give you points for your answer. But instead I want someone put this Thread into FAQ questions, because I will put right here an atachment with this system... But more polished, so anyone can use it ;)

I've felt like a total noob, I didn't knew that each animation has loop on the properties bar xD. That's why I asked this silly question.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 959

Post » Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:45 pm

puntodamar wrote:no idea. yours is a basic question. maybe you can find the answer on FAQ

No, I've checked FAQ questions, and this type of question is not on the Thread.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 959

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: neverk and 42 guests