Animations: Is there a way to not auto play?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Sun Mar 09, 2014 11:49 pm

I want my animation to play on trigger. Is there a way to set auto play to false? Right now I have an action to stop the animation on start layout. Thanks.
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 246

Post » Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:04 am

@siuyee, in the animation properties for the Sprite object, there is a property for playing on start. To find that property, double-click on the sprite, then on the animation window, click on one of the animation names, which you may only have one animation, called "default" by default. Then, the main properties bar will change to have about five extra properties only related to animations.

I hope that helps.
B
20
S
4
G
1
Posts: 185
Reputation: 2,563

Post » Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:02 am

I can only see 5 properties: Speed, Loop, Repeat Count, Repeat to and Ping Pong. Where is the playing on start property? I am on the latest version
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 246

Post » Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:30 am

I don't think there's a way to make it don't play the animation on start. Only thing I can think of is making the animation speed 0 by default, then with events you change it when you want the animation to start
B
84
S
22
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,249

Post » Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:41 pm

7Soul wrote:I don't think there's a way to make it don't play the animation on start. Only thing I can think of is making the animation speed 0 by default, then with events you change it when you want the animation to start


@siuyee, yes, you can set animation speed to 0 to freeze the animation by default. Then, you can have a constant variable set to the animation speed that you want each of your sprites to have.
B
20
S
4
G
1
Posts: 185
Reputation: 2,563

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:03 am

Thanks for your replies.
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 246

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:31 pm

You mean like this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
257
S
43
G
15
Posts: 1,992
Reputation: 41,535

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:12 pm

Or just set an idle animation that is one frame and set it as the default...
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,603

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:36 pm

Or if the animation isn't a loop just set the "initial frame" option in the sprite properties to the last frame and trigger with 'start from beginning'...
B
9
S
2
Posts: 26
Reputation: 586


Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests