Animations Totally Bugged?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:32 am

I've been driving my self crazy to get some animations working -- notably a run startup. I noticed that Animation Finished doesn't work (and was reported). Then I noted animation playing didn't work. Then I noticed animations don't ever seem to reset. Or that frame number checks don't work... Or basically anything but the very basic 'play this animation' events. Am I doing something wrong?

Note that the code is a mess as I was just trying to find events to illicit some form of response (in this case, destroying the sprite. Also, do sub animations serve any real purpose besides organization? I was hoping there would be someway to play one animation into another, but that seems impossible currently.

Once I'm sure this is a 'bug' (at the very least it's poorly implemented) I'll throw it up on the tracker if these things haven't already.

(Also don't let anyone tell you that the creator of IWBTG has to steal sprites because he has no artistic talent! :3 )

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1200 For File.

Edit: Ouch, apparently the animation finished problem should be fixed. Guess not.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:19 am

Many of the animation functions are incomplete. What I've done to get around common problems is to use object variable instead of animation name functions, and in certain situations adding the "Set Animation Frame to 1" condition as (opposed to MMF) animations are meant to be contiguous in Construct (switching animations retains animation frame number, currently causing problems when switching to animations with differing frame counts).

Try doing that, and report back.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 310
Reputation: 2,120

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:46 am

Not really too much help here. Set animation frame to 1 seems to work fine I suppose, but I hit a dead end again when I realized I don't have a way to detect what frame an animation is on (D: I'm going to seriously need that eventually). I'm sure I could somehow work someway around this -- something, like a timer to go with it -- but honestly, these are some basic features and I think I might be patient enough to wait for Ashely to get to -- instead of pulling my hair out now.

Unless there is a way to detect frame number Then I think I can get this to work.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:56 am

It may just be my specific project allowed for this, but I had the gall and patience to force my animation frames on Construct one-at-a-time. Ended up being a good thing, as I am able to now throttle my animation "speeds" according to any number of factors now.

But yes I agree - Ash, please make the animation system, a substantial main feature of the project, a higher priority than it currently is to fix/work/finish. :)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 310
Reputation: 2,120

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:35 pm

[quote="kayin":tv4kz2yk]I noticed that Animation Finished doesn't work (and was reported). Then I noted animation playing didn't work.[/quote:tv4kz2yk]

Both these are fixed in the next build, which should be out soon. If there are still problems with animations after that, add them to the tracker and I'll try and get on top of them ASAP.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:21 pm

You are a saint. I'll be trying my best to break the animation syustem. :)
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:48 am

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1200

This is probably why I still had weirdness with animation finish in the new version. Something is off between this when used as a group or not.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:01 pm

Can you confirm if these problems still exist in 0.96.2? Thanks.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:25 am

I don't think you can change the animation speed via events.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:18 pm

download/file.php?id=114

I can confirm that the animations still dont work as they should.
The switching from one animation to another in events/actions is perfect now,
but ...
the animation do not always play after switching .. or should i say 'seldom'.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 2,119

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests