Animations

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:19 am

Is there a way to stop animations "locking up", I have most of the animations set to 'looping' but for my 'ducking' animation I have no looping and it stays on frame 4 once it ends.

Once I've pressed down it will duck, but then when I hold down right to play my 'running' animation it will not play. So it prevents all the animations from playing.

I've tried placing the "play animation" action in various places in my events, but there will always be some 'locking up' glitch after I've played the ducking animation.
Anyway to work around this?
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:25 am

If you could post a .cap, I'm sure it'd get fixed quicker.

Or, if you don't want to post it, you can e-mail it to one of us.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:43 am

Try "Set animation frame to 1" before playing your animation, in conjunction with "Trigger once while true" in the condition that changes animations.

I'm 99.5% sure that's the problem.

If you manually reset the frame you insure that it always starts properly, and if you use Trigger Once, you insure that you're not saying "Play animation" over and over again. Both can cause your animations to mess up.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:32 am

Rich I sent you a PM (I hope PMs work) :)

And Deadeye sorry but that didn't help :(
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:37 am

[quote="alspal":1ihv4k9y]Rich I sent you a PM (I hope PMs work) :)

And Deadeye sorry but that didn't help :([/quote:1ihv4k9y]

Hmm. I'm still inclined to think that's the problem, because this animation stopping problem is pretty common. It would help to see what it is you're trying to do, but hopefully Rich will be able to sort it out for you.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:47 am

I guess I can give it to you to! n_n
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:38 am

Yep, it was exactly as I suspected. Check your PM's, I sent the fix back to you.

The reason this is happening is because your duck animation isn't looped. Once it gets to the end, animations stop. You have to kick them back into gear with "Play animation." And to insure that your animation always starts on the first frame, use "Set animation frame to 1."

And like I said before, the Trigger Once condition will insure that you don't activate the set frame and play animations actions over and over again every cycle.

Nice looking sprite, by the way.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:43 am

Thanks for that deadeye :)
If only it was as simple as MMF's :|
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:02 am

Good to see it got fixed :D Good work deadeye.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:34 am

Will this be remain like this forever? Where we have to manually tell the animatino to play, when we didn't even tell it to stop?
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests