Another bug maybe

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:44 am

Hey everyone, i was wondering why i do not have this:





tab on my program? i kind of think its vital that i have it, as i have no method making an object move etc :p (from my current knowledge, anyway)
B
2
G
5
Posts: 22
Reputation: 1,294

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:58 am

i actually have yet to even see these screens XD i've only made one game with construct for my brother's class presentation and boy was it successful, i shall find myself to upload it in the near future.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 293
Reputation: 2,236

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:00 am

[quote="Tidus97":3a5c49cw]Hey everyone, i was wondering why i do not have this:[/quote:3a5c49cw]

It's not a bug. You have to add the Physics movement type to your sprite under the Movements section of your sprite's Properties panel. Just click "Add" next to New Movement and select Physics from the list.





You will see the default Physics settings for your sprite in the properties panel.

Now when you insert a new event in the Event List Editor you will have access to your sprite's movement values and actions.

Here's a tip: If you want an event to begin by comparing your sprite's mass, or whatever, don't start off the condition by picking your sprite. For some reason the Get values don't show up in the sprite's condition panel (I believe that is a bug). Instead, double-click the System icon and scroll down to the Values section and select "Compare." You will see a generic compare panel. Under Value 1, delete the zero and then double-click your sprite. Now you will see your physics tab. Select the physics value you want to compare and go from there.

I've found that the generic Compare under the System events generally works better than trying to call up values directly from your objects, at least until the bug is fixed.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 8:06 am

Oh, ok. Thanks. BTW, do you happen to have an MSN, deadman? I would like to add you and ask a few questions, if you do not mind :)
B
2
G
5
Posts: 22
Reputation: 1,294

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:24 am

Hm, found a crash :o.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Create a new DirectX game.
2. Create a new sprite.
3. Assign a movement to it (works at least for 8 dirs and platform).
4. In the event sheet editor, create a new event.
5. Double click the sprite
6. Double click "On animation finished" or "An animation is playing"
7. Click "Back"
8. Click the movement tab
9. Crash occurs.


I found another bug when trying to reproduce the crash:

1) Create a new sprite (it must be a new)
2) Draw something and then press esc.
3) It asks if you want to save the picture. Answer yes.
4) "An unsupported operation was attempted"

Not a crash though.

Could somebody confirm these?
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:17 pm

Also, putting a web browser thing when making an application doesnt start up the .exe
B
2
G
5
Posts: 22
Reputation: 1,294

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:22 pm

[quote="Tidus97":nqqktb41]Also, putting a web browser thing when making an application doesnt start up the .exe[/quote:nqqktb41]

I can confirm this. Temp.exe crashes here.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:28 pm

Thanks for helping him out everyone, and I'll take a look at those bugs!
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,208

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:39 pm

Drasa, I've fixed both your bugs. However I don't know why webbrowser is crashing. I guess the object is not working right now, I'll remove it from the next build till its fixed.
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,208


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests