Another problem with Saved games

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:20 pm

I'm having a problem with saved games. I followed the tutorial how-to-make-and-name-save-game-slots

If I start a game and save, it works, as long as the browser is not closed and the session is still active. As soon as I close the game/browser and re open it The game just gets stuck. PlayerBox spawns at the top of the layout and doesn't load properly.

Any help would be appreciated. I just can't see where I'm messing up. Thanks in advance

EDIT** Here is the CAPX file as I am still unable to get it working properly.
CAPX FileMelVin2012-09-29 03:48:45
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:51 am

bump^
MelVin2012-09-28 03:33:03
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:33 am

^Bump
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:42 am

The pic isn't showing and your explanation of your problem is vague.

Since you're following a tutorial, try PM'ing the author directly.
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:52 am

Thanks inkBot fpr replying, the Author hasn't been on the site for last 2 months. Didn't realize there was a problem with the pic. I will make a Capx and post it asap.
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:19 am

The problem is, when I Restart my browser the saved games no longer work but when I save a game and keep playing the save feature works and I can reload to an earlier layout with all the correct values restored from the save game.

When the Browser is restarted, that saved game does not load properly, the playerbox does not drop to the ground like it should and the values for score and lives say "NAN".

Here is the link to the CAPX file, if anyone can help. I tried to minimize it as much as possible.

CAPX File

Thanks in advance
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:51 am

You are useing WebStorage! Does your browser purge cookies if closed?
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:28 am

Thanks for Replying.

No, all my settings in Chrome are default and the problem occurs regardless of what browser I test in.
I have got it to spawn the character at he first checkpoint now but for some reason the game won't recover the score, lives and layout or it keeps forcing layout 1 and I can't see what is doing it. Any other Ideas?MelVin2012-09-30 04:30:34
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:02 am

IMHO I doubt that anything really gets stored. If you use CHROME you could get the extension "Edit this cookie" to get access to the saved cookies.

When I hit save in your game, no cookie gets created....
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:12 am

Thanks for following up Weishaupt, what you said in your last post made me think of something. trying it now will post back if it works.
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: spacedoubt and 2 guests