Anti Aliasing

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:09 am

(Or anti-aliasing for future search result reasons...)

I was curious why anti-aliasing seems so messed up on Windows, or is it something im doing wrong. When I take a fullscreen snapshot of my game running, it looks soo much better on a mac. This is zoomed in so you can see the difference, but zoomed out at normal size it's still quite harsh & feels so much less 'smooth' than it's meant to be.

I thought maybe it was just Windows rendering shittily in general so I took a screenshot i made on a mac at the same resolution and made that fullscreen in windows then screenshotted that fullscreen image and it still looks just as good as the mac, (obvious i know but it made me feel like i wasnt crazy).

Whats up with this? Is this a known thing? can it be tweaked?

AntiAliasing.png


Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:36 am

What browser? Is there a zoom level set in the browser?
B
21
S
5
Posts: 195
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 8:03 am

Sorry, my bad for not posting more details. This is Node-Webkit v.0.10.5 export running straight from Steam on mac & windows. So Chromium/Chrome i guess.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:47 am

Is it "windowed" in anyway i.e. title bar or scrollbars where it would be different per OS? Or is the game taking up all of the full screen?
B
21
S
5
Posts: 195
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:04 pm

@ggibson Nope, 100% Full screen, though the anti-aliasing is unrelated to being fullscreen, if its in windowed mode, it looks just as bad/different -- arguably more-so because the sprites are smaller/harder to see finer details.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:09 pm

Have you tried running it on a different windows pc, just in case it's a graphics driver issue?
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
73
S
19
G
66
Posts: 2,198
Reputation: 42,188

Post » Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:24 pm

Not me personally, but every one of the screenshots a colleague has sent me (she's on a windows machine) have the same issue as above - blockier / weirdly anti-aliased graphics and sprite fonts.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:39 am

I don't notice that issue, I test on Mac Air with Intel HD4000 and on a Samsung Notebook with Intel HD4000. Both are sharp.

This is definitely a case of funky GPU drivers on that particular setup from your colleague.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:56 pm

bummer.. thanks!
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:51 am

Hey @Silverforce, would you be able to take a *fullscreen* screenshot of cosmochoria from steam and post it here? id love to see what you're seeing...
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests