Any software interferes with Construct 2?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:21 am

I've discovered this since last year, it seems that an app will interfere with Construct 2, causing a "save roadblock".

That "save roadblock" that I mean is Construct 2 might hang at certain elements when saving projects, such as layouts. Or more simpler, Construct 2 becomes "sluggish".

An app that I discovered interferes with Construct 2 is Winamp, am I right? Any solutions?
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 697
Reputation: 12,898

Post » Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:02 am

Uninstall Winamp? I mean if it indeed is causing such an issue to affect other software.

In general, software won't cause errors in other software. if winamp is using a high amount of cpu then the whole system would have less cpu to use, so c2 would be slower.

If software does cause issues in other software then it's either abusing system settings or it's virus ridden.

That's just my thoughts. I don't use Winamp, but since it's to play music, it should not affect other software at all.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,290
Reputation: 70,991

Post » Sun Jan 31, 2016 10:12 am

I dunno, @R0J0Hound.

But the problem only occurs sometimes when a music is played. Maybe the playback is biting some CPU randomly, perhaps?
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 697
Reputation: 12,898

Post » Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:39 pm

There could be something that collides with Construct 2 under the hood (just like you can't use XAMPP and Skype at the same time). I'd go with uninstalling Winamp and picking a different music player (I know, it's not a pleasure to part from our favourite softwares.. try using foobar2000, it works fine with C2).
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Sun Jan 31, 2016 5:53 pm

Also, if you have any audio software that's using ASIO drivers, it may interfere with other apps using sound as, if I'm not mistaken, the drivers would only allow one application per time to use the soundboard. Not sure it happens in newer versions.

Also, Winamp causes a lot audio driver locking in my Windows 7 machine.
B
48
S
14
Posts: 111
Reputation: 3,924

Post » Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:28 am

@glerikud - Well, maybe I can use Windows Media Player or Groove Music (Music app in Windows 10) to play my musics.
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

If you play Puyo Puyo games, you can meet me at the Puyo Puyo English Community Discord: https://discord.gg/0k41S8ARwvY2iTIQ
B
103
S
24
G
11
Posts: 697
Reputation: 12,898

Post » Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:20 pm

This doesn't make much sense, particularly since Construct 2 doesn't use any audio playback features like a media app does.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,408
Reputation: 194,506

Post » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:10 pm

I use Winamp and Construct 2 for years and never had a problem with them conflicting. Both softwares have crashed in the past, but it happens very rarely, and I've never perceived any sign of incompatibility. I guess it must be something else on your computer.
Scirra Employee
B
153
S
53
G
17
Posts: 710
Reputation: 17,825


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests