Any way to export to Cocoon.io on C3?

Get help using Construct 3!

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:35 am

I've been looking a way to export to mobile without the horrible performance of the cordova export that's present right now (I built an .apk of 3 circles expanding and retracting via sine, Samsung S6 starting heating up :) :) )

And Cocoon usually has great performance. Any options?
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,865

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:46 am

We only support Cordova now. I thought Cocoon.io could build Cordova apps. If you want to use Canvas+, that has been deprecated for over 2 years, and had many severe problems that Cordova did not have since it used a real browser engine. We won't be bringing it back.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,782

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:19 pm

damjancd wrote:I've been looking a way to export to mobile without the horrible performance of the cordova export that's present right now (I built an .apk of 3 circles expanding and retracting via sine, Samsung S6 starting heating up :) :) )

And Cocoon usually has great performance. Any options?


This shouldn't have changed. Just export as "Cordova", delete the config.xml file and zip the content.
Upload it to cocoon and select "CanvasPlus" as WebView Engine.

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
98
S
34
G
30
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 27,907

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:39 pm

Thank you @AndreasR I'll give it a go. Had no way of knowing about deleting the file. Stuff like this are a show stopped most of the time.
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,865

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:50 pm

@AndreasR Couldn't run. This error welcomed me : Image
It's a simple sprite and sine project. No addons, nothing weird.
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,865

Post » Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:59 pm

There is other stuff you need to do for cocoon.io wrt to display stuff to make canvas+ happy or else you get black screen or multiple views. But I cant remember and I cant find the info. I haven't used for a while as I am not targeting mobile for now.

I think you need to allow use high dpi scaling for one and there was another thing possibly need to either use point or linear mapping. its definitely documented somewhere on the cocoon website.

Have you tried the C3 cloud build?
it is not canvas+ level of performance however I was very impressed with the performance compared to my experience with past non canvas+ builds and you don't have to worry about any compatibility issues.

I made an apk of my alpha shmup just to test ythe c3 cloud build, it is full HD res, pushing a few hundred objects with lots of scaling, array look ups and functions and Im getting 40-60 FPS on 2-3 year old midrange phones..... if you are using dt properly anything above 30 fps is playable.
...
B
44
S
23
G
7
Posts: 288
Reputation: 7,989

Post » Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:56 am

@NetOne If only they had a good step by step of their product that works and is actually up to date. I guess Cocoon doesn't like money. Money corrupts :) ahaha

Anyway I tried the native export on C3, built an .apk and ran it on Samsung S6. It was a program that had 4 expanding and retracting sine sprites. That's it. I ran it for a while and it started heating up the phone. I'd call that unusable. No other events, no addons. Clean.

I can work with minimal resources and optimize within a framework but I can't work less than 4 expanding sprites. Oh and they changed opacity every 0.1 secs.
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,865

Post » Sat Jul 01, 2017 7:22 am

damjancd wrote:@AndreasR Couldn't run. This error welcomed me : Image
It's a simple sprite and sine project. No addons, nothing weird.


Are you using any special chars in your file names (sprite) or project name?
Cocoon only supports english letters and some special chars.

P.S. I made a guide for C2, however this also should apply on C3.
I haven't a license for C3, yet. Once I've decided to purchase one, I'll update the guides.

https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/cocoonio/

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
98
S
34
G
30
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 27,907

Post » Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:07 pm

damjancd wrote:I ran it for a while and it started heating up the phone.

That's normal if the phone is busy. I have a wide range of games on my phone that heat it up, including major titles like Mario Run and Pokemon Go. It's not realistic to expect a phone to stay perfectly cool while running the CPU and GPU continually.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,782

Post » Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:29 am

@AndreasR nope. Just "New Project 2" or "Mkmer".

@Ashley I compare with other games on the same devices. Clucking adventures for an example keeps perfectly cool. I understand some heat is expected, but not high heat when running a few expanding circles.
B
37
S
6
G
1
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,865

Next

Return to How do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest