Anyone else have this problem?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:30 pm

Just using the platform behavior, jumping seems to come and go. Ill some times have to press the jump button 3 or times before the player jumps while running... this is a big issue for me as the game is a platformer so jumping needs to be precise. Any words of advice on why this isnt working?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 799

Post » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:39 pm

What release you are using ?
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,155

Post » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:41 pm

Post your code or capx.
B
46
S
16
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 4,278

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:23 am

Im 168 right now. I cannot post capx, im a nintendo developer and using the wii u plug in, posting it is not allowed unfortunately.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 799

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:35 am

p0tayters wrote:Just using the platform behavior, jumping seems to come and go. Ill some times have to press the jump button 3 or times before the player jumps while running... this is a big issue for me as the game is a platformer so jumping needs to be precise. Any words of advice on why this isnt working?


Manual, from the platform behavior chapter wrote:https://www.scirra.com/manual/100/platform
Implementing reliable platform movements
For the most reliable platform movement, it is recommended to use a invisible rectangle sprite with no animations with the Platform movement. Then, the animated player object can be positioned on top of that. Otherwise, the changing size and collision polygon of the object as its animation plays can interfere with the Platform movement's floor, wall and slope detection, causing a shaking or glitchy movement. For more information and a complete guide, see the tutorial How to make a Platform game.


If you didn't do it, I suggest applying the platform behavior on a rectangle, then pin the graphics onto it (if you have multiple instances to work with, containers will be of help)
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:17 pm

This happens in some keyboards if you are using the directional buttons to control your player and you have the keyboard "Num Lock" function activated.
B
10
S
4
Posts: 133
Reputation: 1,543

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:53 pm

I think it might be the numnlock because it never happens to the game on the Wii U. Thanks!
B
12
S
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 799

Post » Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:26 am

Having the same issue. Seems as though it'll work 80% of the time then fail to register. NumLock is off. Haven't found any information as of yet in my searches to help us resolve the issue. We created a sprite then applied our texture to it. Any advice?
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 202

Post » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:28 am

Nvm, we fixed it.
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 202

Post » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:44 am

DanielJMoore wrote:Having the same issue. Seems as though it'll work 80% of the time then fail to register. NumLock is off. Haven't found any information as of yet in my searches to help us resolve the issue. We created a sprite then applied our texture to it. Any advice?


WHAT DID YOU DO TO FIX THIS???????? PLEASE HELP lol. Its still giving me problems. same thing, about 80% of the time.
B
12
S
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 799

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: plinkie and 28 guests