Anyone know what this alert means?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Apr 25, 2015 4:03 pm

I have been getting this alert after my game runs for a few minutes. I don't reference IIDs in my coding, only UIDs. Thanks, Morgan.

Image
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

Post » Sat Apr 25, 2015 5:21 pm

Do you use "pick nth instance"? I think I've seen it before, but I forgot what was causing it. I'll see if I can reproduce it.

Edit:
I can't seem to reproduce it. :/
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,291
Reputation: 70,993

Post » Sat Apr 25, 2015 10:57 pm

@R0J0hound - no but I do use "pick by comparison" a lot.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

Post » Sat Apr 25, 2015 11:01 pm

I have some time. If you post or pm your capx I can try to isolate the cause.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,291
Reputation: 70,993

Post » Sat Apr 25, 2015 11:16 pm

I had the same issue pop up when using a Sprite object with two Array objects in a container. Attempting to Pick by Comparison the second Array (based on a shared tag variable) gave me that same error. Picking the first Array gave no error. My attempt to reproduce it under similar conditions in another .capx failed, unfortunately. I eventually got around it by simply creating a separate Array whenever a new Sprite was created and using the same shared tag for them. Weirdly, even with the error message, the Array was still picked correctly and the code otherwise executed without issue.
B
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 251

Post » Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:09 am

@Ancillary - I don't use any arrays and, yes, I find that after I close the error window, the game keeps playing correctly. I do use many Spriter objects in my game so I'm wondering if they might be involved. I understand that IIDs are generated automatically so it does make me wonder what the problem is. @R0J0hound - thank you. If I can get my google drive to work, I'll PM you a link.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

Post » Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:21 pm

@PSI
I tried your capx and couldn't get the error. Looking in C2's js files I'm not finding any way to narrow what the cause could be. That error can be triggered by the part that picks the other objects in a container and is used throughout the runtime and plugins.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,291
Reputation: 70,993

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:31 am

@R0J0hound - Thank you. I think the only containers I use are my spriter objects. The error must be there somewhere.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

Post » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:24 pm

@PSI - I managed to run across the bug again, and posted a pared-down .capx in the Bug Reports forum demonstrating it. I believe it has something to do with the Array object, as attempts to trigger the bug with a Sprite Text object, using a similar comparison, didn't produce an error.
B
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 251

Post » Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:15 am

@Ancillary - I don't use any arrays so it must be something different in my project, eh?
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,974

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests