Anyone still use Directsound?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:12 am

I want to remove Directsound in the next build or two if possible, since it's no longer supported or useful (Vista effectively removed support for it). XAudio2 now has matching features so it should be possible to port to XAudio2 without any loss of features.

Is anyone still using Directsound? Would you be affected if the next build omitted to include Directsound? This would mean you would be unable to open .caps using the Directsound plugin.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:11 am

i really believe removing it would be a bad move. i know vista doesn't support it anymore but not anyone run vista. ie: me ;D
like the old wise men use to say, if its not broken, don't fix it.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,528

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:31 am

[quote="Border":1b93v5m6]i really believe removing it would be a bad move. i know vista doesn't support it anymore but not anyone run vista. ie: me ;D
like the old wise men use to say, if its not broken, don't fix it.[/quote:1b93v5m6]

It IS broken; for every Vista user. You might not run Vista, but the players who play your games may well run.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2,201

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:34 am

I don't use it but I have been having problems with the XAudio2 playing the MP3 form resources....
B
5
S
2
G
4
Posts: 632
Reputation: 2,829

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:52 am

Aeal: Directsound actually used identical code to play music, so it probably has the same problem...

Border: if anyone plays your game with Directsound on Vista, it probably just won't have audio. XAudio2 works on both XP and Vista. Also, looking further forwards to Windows 7, it will also not support Directsound, and WILL support XAudio2.

So I've been trying to get everyone to use XAudio2 as soon as I figured that out, because a year or two down the line, Directsound will be seriously useless.

Would anyone be affected if Directsound was omitted from an upcoming build, though? At the latest, I want it omitted from the 1.0 release.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:03 am

I'd be 'effected' but what would happen? I assume the events would just be gone? I really don't care, but technically something will happen!
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:20 am

[quote="kayin":2iqpyt3b]I'd be 'effected' but what would happen? I assume the events would just be gone? I really don't care, but technically something will happen![/quote:2iqpyt3b]

Your CAP wouldn't load, actually. You'd want to port all of the DirectSound stuff to XAudio before DS is removed.

Anyways, I don't have any objections to it's removal. Although you could always put a check box in the add plugin dialog to show/hide legacy objects and just keep the object itself.
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:21 am

Id say remove it, it doesn't add any thing, and not everyone can use it.
Better to do it now, while we're still in beta.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 4:44 pm

Be free to remove but does Xaudio now have that positional audio thingy I can't check it atm cuz not on my own pc
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:13 pm

Yes, the latest version added positional sounds :).
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests