Anyone still use Directsound?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:56 am

I wouldnt be affected. Ive fooled around with Directsound but If I actually try to make a game Im not going to put any sound in it till 1.0.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 239
Reputation: 1,928

Post » Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:32 am

leave it hidden, with a big ass warning when you click on it.

[size=200:i0ai6cmm][color=#FF0000:i0ai6cmm][USE XAUDIO2 YOU FOOL, DIRECTSOUND WONT WORK ON LOTS OF COMP'OOTERZ][/color:i0ai6cmm][/size:i0ai6cmm]

because some people have caps lying around and it would be annoying if their work was lost because they were coming back to a project after not opening it...

or at least make it in future builds that you can open files that contain direct sound events/actions, but they dont do anything (since direct sound is gone) instead of saying, cap could not load blablabalbablablalbla

[making it so that you cant open old files with direct sound would be very bad.]
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:38 am

Could you do a auto convert for older CAP that has direct sound ?

I know when I updated my CAP's I just clicked on the line with direct sound . Then clicked on the back button until I could click on the Xaudio. Then clicked on the Next button untill done.

I know I would not like it if I could not load an old CAP because of direct sound. Could you make it so you could load the CAP but not run it untill you remove the direct sound code lines?
B
15
S
10
G
8
Posts: 107
Reputation: 4,944

Post » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:34 pm

I think the easiest solution, without having to write lots of backwards-compatibility or importing code, is just to hide Directsound from the insert object dialog. Then you can open old .caps, but nobody will ever insert Directsound in to a new file.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:32 pm

I like that solution. I got lots of old backup caps that I'd like to retrain access to.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:40 am

wouldnt it be quite easy to write a converter? i mean someone said they have the same features so wouldent it just be a case by case replacement? having said that, as construct matures more plugins may become obsolete, we may have to work out a generic system to take care of this sort of thing...
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,636

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:31 am

No, we haven't coded any easy way to do plugin-converting yet. Besides, I don't think there's an exact 1:1 mapping for Directsound to XAudio2 features, so it's probably not possible in the first place. Also XAudio2 has several new features in areas like caching, which ought to be taken advantage from the beginning, not used in a Directsound-style way.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:08 am

oh right i understand now. probably be best just to hide it in the list then... opening old caps will pop up a warning... maybe not let you run until you replace all the sound actions? construct rules btw, keep up the good work!
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,636

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:05 pm



ripped it off like a band aid!
(Although it sounds like you just shoved the band aid into your pocket just in case.)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 271
Reputation: 2,017

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:35 pm

Why not SDL_mixer?
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest